Brigham Young: A Concise Biography of the Mormon Moses

Brigham Young: A Concise Biography of the Mormon Moses

by Ed Breslin


$22.46 $24.95 Save 10% Current price is $22.46, Original price is $24.95. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions

Temporarily Out of Stock Online

Eligible for FREE SHIPPING


Brigham Young: A Concise Biography of the Mormon Moses by Ed Breslin

He was a carpenter. A visionary. A governor. A prophet. A pioneer. A preacher. A businessman. A temple-builder.

Brigham Young loomed large in a tumultuous time. He helped found the state of Utah in the era of American Manifest Destiny. He rallied thousands around Mormonism, a new faith with powerful detractors who tried to stamp it out in the towns and villages where its communities sprang up. With barely a dozen days of formal education under his belt, he left a legacy of writings, letters and sermons that continue to enrich the study of the Mormon Church and the era of American Western expansion.

In Brigham Young, Ed Breslin distills Young's larger-than-life story into a concise, readable biography that focuses on his most critical moments and achievements. Unlike other biographies, Breslin's account neither whitewashes nor sensationalizes Brigham Young's controversial life. Brigham Young is the perfect primer on Young's vast and complicated legacy.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781621570400
Publisher: Regnery History
Publication date: 08/19/2013
Pages: 208
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 9.10(h) x 1.00(d)

About the Author

Ed Breslin is the former Publisher and Senior Vice-President of HarperCollinsPublishers. He was co-writer for Patton: The Pursuit of Destiny and Sherman: The Ruthless Victor as well as the writer and collaborator on Senator Mel Martinez's autobiography A Sense of Belonging. This experienced author and respected historian lives in New York City.

Table of Contents

Chapter 1 New England Roots 1

Chapter 2 Boyhood and Youth 7

Chapter 3 Family Man 17

Chapter 4 Conversion 23

Chapter 5 Missionary 31

Chapter 6 Kirtland 39

Chapter 7 Zion's Camp 45

Chapter 8 The Quorum of Twelve 53

Chapter 9 The Temple and the Tempest 59

Chapter 10 Back to Missouri 67

Chapter 11 To Britain and Back 75

Chapter 12 Increased Responsibilities 85

Chapter 13 The Assassination 97

Chapter 14 The New Leader 103

Chapter 15 History Repeats Itself 113

Chapter 16 The Great Exodus 121

Chapter 17 Winter Quarters 129

Chapter 18 To the Great Salt Lake Valley 135

Chapter 19 Backtracking to Winter Quarters 149

Chapter 20 Exodus Completed 155

Chapter 21 The Colonizer 161

Chapter 22 The Governor 171

Chapter 23 The Utah War 183

Chapter 24 The Mountain Meadows Massacre 193

Chapter 25 The Aftermath of the Atrocity 199

Chapter 26 Polygamy 205

Chapter 27 Legacy 215

Acknowledgments 221

Bibliography 223

Index 225

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews