Brincar de Viver

Brincar de Viver

by Maria Bethânia


Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


Brincar de Viver

This compilation of the romantic/dramatic singer Maria Betânia comprises periods of her whole career from the '70s to the '90s, representing a varied landscape of her style. Opens with "Brincar de Viver," a beautiful romantic ballad with a less well-resolved bridge. "As Canções Que Você Fez Pra Mim" was taken from the homonymous album that sold 1.5 million copies in 1994, where she interpreted the old Roberto Carlos/Erasmo Carlos hit in a swing rendition. The live-recorded "Esotérico" has 1976's Doces Bárbaros' (Bethania, Caetano Veloso, Gal Costa, Gilberto Gil) participation, even if only her and Costa sing in this track. Lupicínio Rodrigues is renovated in "Loucura." Other old composers interpreted by her are Paulo Vanzolini ("Volta Por Cima") and Herivelto Martins ("Atiraste Uma Pedra," lyrics by David Nasser). Chico Buarque was represented by "Rosa dos Ventos" (from the homonymous 1971 show), "O Meu Amor," and "Noite dos Mascarados" (with the composer as special guest). "Foram Me Chamar," by the important sambista Ivonne Lara, one of the few woman to be admitted in the macho atmosphere of the hills, is interpreted with the special guests Caetano Veloso and Gilberto Gil. The album closes with the heavy electric sonority of the '70s in Milton Nascimento/Ronaldo Bastos' hit "Fé Cega, Faca Amolada."

Product Details

Release Date: 12/01/1996
Label: Universal Brazil
UPC: 0731453175020
catalogNumber: 5317502


  1. Brincar de Viver
  2. As Cancoes Que Voce Fez Pra Mim
  3. Esoterico
  4. Coracao Ateu
  5. Loucura
  6. Terezinha
  7. Alguem Me Avisou
  8. Noite Dos Mascarados
  9. O Meu Amor
  10. Volta por Cima
  11. Comecaria Tudo Outra Vez
  12. Atiraste uma Pedra
  13. Rosa Dos Ventos
  14. Fe Cega Faca Amolada

Album Credits

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews