Bringing Down the Giant

Bringing Down the Giant

by Saving Abel


Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


Bringing Down the Giant

Sexually charged Southern rockers Saving Abel follow up on their sophomore album, 2010's Miss America, with Bringing Down the Giant. Just as Miss America and its self-titled predecessor reveled in testosterone-soaked tales of bedroom conquests, Giant continues the chest thumping but mercifully also offers some thematic and sonic diversions. Fans of their previous albums need look no further than the eponymous opening track, which gives the impression of an empowerment anthem for wimpy kids ("I hit the wall, I got back up and dusted off/I'm past the pain, I'm taking back all that I lost") before revealing its "two wrongs make a right" tendencies ("Karma's coming back here to find you/This could get a little violent"), and "Michael Jackson's Jacket," which sounds innocent enough in title but immediately identifies itself as a mental undressing of a sharp-dressed woman ("You know we'd get there quicker/If it weren't for all those zippers"). Conversely, Saving Abel show an almost vulnerable side with the acoustic ballad "Those Who Wait," admitting to feeling insecure about a girlfriend's faithfulness, and the bluesy, piano-led closer "Constantly" reminds a long-distance lover that despite the miles between them she's not far from his thoughts. But the most notable change with Giant is its expanded sound, from mainstream '90s rock ("Amazing," "Pictures of Elvis"), to modern hard rock ("New Loser"), to country crossover ("You Make Me Sick"). Though not breaking any new ground, Saving Abel can at least be credited with showing some signs of maturity. ~ Chrysta Cherrie

Product Details

Release Date: 07/17/2012
Label: Ent. One Music
UPC: 0099923243120
catalogNumber: 2431

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Saving Abel   Primary Artist
Skidd Mills   Guitar,Keyboards
Scott Bartlett   Dobro,Guitar,Piano,Group Member
Jason Null   Banjo,Guitar,Jug,Jaw Harp,Group Member
Eric Taylor   Bass,Group Member
Jared Weeks   Vocals,Background Vocals,Group Member
Michael McManus   Drums,Group Member
Drew Deprey   Background Vocals
Nikki Weeks   Background Vocals

Technical Credits

Skidd Mills   Composer,Programming,Producer
Blair Daly   Composer
Scott Frazier   Management
Scott Bartlett   Composer
Jason Null   Composer
Jared Weeks   Composer
Sean Marlowe   Art Direction
Beaux Rozin   String Arrangements
Marti Frederikson   Composer
Rodney Clausen   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews