Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

British Women Fiction Writers of the 19th Century (Women Writers and Their Works Series)

British Women Fiction Writers of the 19th Century (Women Writers and Their Works Series)

by William Golding, Harold Bloom (Editor)

Editorial Reviews

School Library Journal
Gr 9 Up-This entry in the series includes Jane Austen; Anne, Charlotte, and Emily Bronte; George Eliot; Elizabeth Gaskell; Harriet Martineau; Margaret Oliphant; Mary Shelley; and Frances Trollope, the mother of Anthony Trollope. Over two thirds of the excerpted critical analyses have been regurgitated from previous works edited by Harold Bloom. In fact, a number of the excerpts have been taken from essays previously excerpted in The Critical Perspective (Chelsea, 1988), a set that is still in print. This volume follows the same format as others in the series: a brief biography of the author followed by critical excerpts and ending with a bibliography of her works. One glaring mistake: George Eliot's father is mentioned as having died in 1949 instead of 1849. Perhaps the biggest complaint with this volume, as with others in the series, is the lack of an index. For an introduction, this is adequate. For more in-depth analysis, students will need to go elsewhere.-Jo-Anne Weinberg, Greenburgh Public Library, NY

Product Details

Facts on File, Incorporated
Publication date:
Women Writers and Their Works Series
Product dimensions:
6.07(w) x 9.27(h) x 0.59(d)
Age Range:
14 Years

Meet the Author

The author of the classic novel Lord of the Flies, as well as other books, essays, and stories, William Golding (1911-1993) is widely considered one of the greatest British writers of all time. Aside from being knighted by Queen Elizabeth II in 1988, he also won the Nobel Prize in Literature and was awarded the Man Booker Prize.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network


Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews