Britten: Before Life & After

Britten: Before Life & After

by Mark Padmore


$16.72 $18.99 Save 12% Current price is $16.72, Original price is $18.99. You Save 12%.
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Wednesday, October 24  Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.


Britten: Before Life & After

It was on returning from a tour of the German concentration camps with Yehudi Menuhin, in 1945, that Benjamin Britten finally realized his long-cherished project of setting to music the Holy Sonnets of John Donne. Britten succeeded admirably in conveying their skillful blend of passion and intellectual rigor. Acclaimed British tenor Mark Padmore is sensitively partnered by Roger Vignoles at the piano in this generous program, which also includes Winter Words, set to the poetry of Thomas Hardy. From the Label

Product Details

Release Date: 06/09/2009
Label: Harmonia Mundi Fr.
UPC: 0093046744328
catalogNumber: 907443
Rank: 154789


  1. The Holy Sonnets (9) of John Donne, for voice & piano, Op. 35
  2. Thou wakeful shepherd ("Morning Hymn"), for soprano & continuo, Z. 198
  3. Let the night perish (Job's Curse), sacred song for soprano, chorus & continuo, Z. 191
  4. Now that the sun hath veiled his light, sacred song for soprano & continuo ("An Evening Hymn"), Z. 193
  5. Winter Words, song cycle for tenor & piano, Op. 52
  6. I Wonder As I Wander
  7. Sail on, sail on, for voice & piano (Folk Songs, Vol. 4)
  8. The Miller of Dee, for voice & piano (Folk Songs, Vol. 3)
  9. At the Mid Hour of Night, for voice & piano (Folk Songs, Vol. 4)
  10. There's None to Soothe, for voice & piano (Folk Songs, Vol. 3)

Album Credits

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews