Broken Blossom

Broken Blossom

by Bette Midler


$9.81 $10.99 Save 11% Current price is $9.81, Original price is $10.99. You Save 11%.
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Thursday, August 24 ,  Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Delivery during checkout.


Broken Blossom

After a string of over the top '70s albums with high-energy tunes that made Bette Midler a sensation worldwide, she settled down on Broken Blossom. The first song, "Make Yourself Comfortable," sets the pace with a relaxed doo wop style that's hard to resist. There are some remakes on Broken Blossom including a version of Billy Joel's "Say Goodbye to Hollywood" with about twice as much pizzazz as the original; the surprising choice of "A Dream Is a Wish Your Heart Makes," from Disney's Cinderella; and "You Don't Know Me," which was previously sung by Elvis Presley, Rick Nelson, Van Morrison, and Ray Charles, and still sounds great. Broken Blossom seems to be a mixed message from Midler, whom listeners love for being so uncontrolled but she has toned down on antics. Broken Blossom served as a bridge between Midler's solely musical days and her career as actress. Shortly after its release, she performed in her classic live film Divine Madness and then was nominated for an Academy Award for The Rose. Broken Blossom is quirky, though not as spontaneous as we have come to expect. We are used to an outrageous choice in songs sung by an outrageous personality. If one can accept simply melodic songs sung by that same personality, then Broken Blossom is a fine listen.

Product Details

Release Date: 08/29/1995
Label: Atlantic
UPC: 0075678278020
catalogNumber: 82780
Rank: 16367

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Bette Midler   Primary Artist,Vocals,Background Vocals
Brenda Russell   Background Vocals
Tom Waits   Piano
Plas Johnson   Saxophone
Shelly Manne   Drums
Don Menza   Saxophone
Don Randi   Organ,Keyboards
Marshall Royal   Saxophone
Chuck Rainey   Bass,Bass Guitar
Bill Watrous   Percussion
Ellie Greenwich   Background Vocals
Clydie King   Background Vocals
Brian Russell   Background Vocals
David T. Walker   Electric Guitar
Jim Keltner   Drums
Chuck Higgins   Background Vocals
Max Bennett   Bass,Bass Guitar
Dianne Brooks   Background Vocals
Artie Butler   Piano,Keyboards
Craig Doerge   Piano,Keyboards
Alan Estes   Percussion,Conga
Donny Gerrard   Background Vocals
Gene Goe   Trumpet
Jimmie Haskell   Strings,Horn
Jim Horn   Baritone Saxophone
Howard Roberts   Guitar,Ukulele
Jim Hughart   Bass,Bass Guitar
David Hungate   Bass,Bass Guitar
Jack Jennings   Percussion
Russ Kunkel   Drums
D. David Latman   Background Vocals
Lew McCreary   Percussion
Mike Melvoin   Keyboards
Ira Newborn   Guitar
Steve Porcaro   Synthesizer
Don Rader   Trumpet
Lee Ritenour   Guitar,Electric Guitar
Thom Rotella   Guitar
Jerry Scheff   Bass,Bass Guitar
Bobby Shaw   Trumpet
Fred Tackett   Guitar,Electric Guitar
Frank Vicari   Tenor Saxophone
Leland Sklar   Bass,Bass Guitar
Mike Harris   Background Vocals
Steve Douglas   Saxophone
John Barnes   Piano

Technical Credits

Bill Watrous   Contributor
Brooks Arthur   Producer,Engineer
Bob Alcivar   Arranger
Artie Butler   Arranger,Horn Arrangements,String Arrangements
Jimmie Haskell   Arranger,Horn Arrangements,String Arrangements
Bones Howe   Producer,Engineer
Mike Melvoin   Arranger
Bob Merritt   Engineer
Ira Newborn   Arranger
Bobby Rozario   Arranger
Bob Defrin   Cover Design
Louis Louiguy   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews