Broken Dreams

Broken Dreams

by Lindsay McKenna

NOOK Book(eBook)

View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details

Product Details

BN ID: 2940157706487
Publisher: Blue Turtle Publishing
Publication date: 01/02/2016
Series: Delos Series , #4
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Sales rank: 97,048
File size: 663 KB

About the Author

Lindsay McKenna, a New York Times Bestselling Author, is the pseudonym of award-winning author Eileen Nauman. With more than 135 titles to her credit and approximately 23 million books sold in 33 countries worldwide, Lindsay is one of the most distinguished authors in the women's fiction genre.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Broken Dreams 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
MissLML More than 1 year ago
BROKEN DREAMS is book #4 in Lindsay McKenna’s fabulous, relevant, intense but heartwarming DELOS series. My emotions were tugged thru gut wrenching lows and eventual extreme highs. I thought the previous books were fantastic, but this one hits it out of the stratosphere. This is the story of Air Force A-10 combat pilot Captain Alexa Culver and Marine sniper Sergeant Gage Hunter. They are both serving our country, are stationed in Afghanistan and meet by chance thru Alexa’s fraternal twin brother Matt. Although they sense an immediate and powerful connection they cannot acknowledge it due to her being an officer and him being enlisted. Within days of meeting, Alexa invites Gage to join her on a Delos charity humanitarian visit to an American friendly Afghan village. This ends up being life changing as they are attacked by the Taliban. Alexa is kidnapped along with 7 other civilian women. They are taken, hidden in surrounding caves and brutally assaulted before Gage and a team of SEALs are able to rescue them. In order to heal from the trauma she has experienced Gage instinctively senses what Alexa needs. She is wary of men but turns towards him and not away. He’s there for her in ways that no one else can be and provides a safe haven for her fractured soul while filling her heart. Patience, time and love allow them to create an unbreakable bond. They discover that together broken dreams can be mended and new ones created.
gdsnv More than 1 year ago
I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. First, this is most certainly a standalone book. However, the Delos Series is amazing and I highly recommend you read it from the beginning. For Broken Dreams, I have to admit that this book is my new favorite of the series. Trust me, that is saying something because the previous books were all my favorites…until the next one came out. This one? It has just about everything and anything that makes a book special and a standout amongst other books. Yes, folks, it is THAT good. The two main characters in this story are Alexa and Gage. I had “met” Alexa in previous books and I had some pre-conceived notions about her that this book shot to hell. She is strong. She is broken. She is amazingly giving. She is also a nice person and a helluva an officer. And Gage. He makes all my previous “favorite heroes” in this series pale in comparison. He, too, is strong but broken. He shows amazing depth in his giving to Alexa. He is just amazing and of course, my “new” favorite! These two have an amazingly fast-paced, gut wrenching, sweet and sassy story and it is a wild ride to their HEA. I personally enjoyed revisiting previous characters – Alexa’s extended family is a hoot – and the entire Delos team. Know that this book also deals with some of the very serious, ugly sides to war that just about broke my heart. And the reason it was so heartbreaking to read is that these things DO happen, every single day. Ms. McKenna truly does an amazing job of weaving the cold, hard facts into an amazing story and you will appreciate what I believe was a tremendous amount of planning and plotting to make this series well-thought out and delivered. I can’t speak highly enough about this series and especially this book. Read this, people. You won’t be sorry. And apologies for over-using the word ‘amazing’.