The Broken Estate: Essays on Literature and Belief

The Broken Estate: Essays on Literature and Belief

by James Wood

NOOK Book(eBook)

$11.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
Want a NOOK ? Explore Now

Overview

The Broken Estate: Essays on Literature and Belief by James Wood

In the tradition of Matthew, Arnold, and Edmund Wilson, James Wood reads literature expansively, always pursuing its role in our lives. In a series of long essays, The Broken Estate explores the work of some of the greatest writers—from Austen, Flaubert, and Woolf, to Pynchon, Updike, and Morrison. In his introduction—"The Limits of Not Quite"— Wood writes that "distinctions between literary belief and religious belief are important, and it is because I believe in that importance that I am attracted to writers who struggle with those distinctions." A new essay on "Shakespeare in Bloom" is included in the Modern Library paperback edition.

About the Author:
James Wood was born in Durham, England in 1965, and has been a full-time literary critic since leaving Cambridge University, first at The Guardian in London, and currently at The New Republic. His essays and reviews have appeared in a number of other publications, including The New Yorker and The London Review of Books.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780804151900
Publisher: Random House Publishing Group
Publication date: 11/06/2013
Sold by: Random House
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 304
Sales rank: 782,358
File size: 2 MB

About the Author

JAMES WOOD is a staff writer at The New Yorker and a visiting lecturer at Harvard. He is the author of two essay collections, The Broken Estate and The Irresponsible Self, and a novel, The Book Against God.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews