This item is not eligible for coupon offers.

Broken People: A Novel

Broken People: A Novel

by Sam Lansky

Hardcover(Original)

$27.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Available for Pre-Order. This item will be available on June 9, 2020

Overview

“Profound and affecting.”—Chloe Benjamin

A groundbreaking, incandescent debut novel about coming to grips with the past and ourselves, for fans of Sally Rooney, Hanya Yanagihara and Garth Greenwell


“He fixes everything that’s wrong with you in three days.”

This is what hooks Sam when he first overhears it at a fancy dinner party in the Hollywood hills: the story of a globe-trotting shaman who claims to perform “open-soul surgery” on emotionally damaged people. For neurotic, depressed Sam, new to Los Angeles after his life in New York imploded, the possibility of total transformation is utterly tantalizing. He’s desperate for something to believe in, and the shaman—who promises ancient rituals, plant medicine and encounters with the divine—seems convincing, enough for Sam to sign up for a weekend under his care.

But are the great spirits the shaman says he’s summoning real at all? Or are the ghosts in Sam’s memory more powerful than any magic?

At turns tender and acid, funny and wise, Broken People is a journey into the nature of truth and fiction—a story of discovering hope amid cynicism, intimacy within chaos and peace in our own skin.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781335013934
Publisher: Hanover Square Press
Publication date: 06/09/2020
Edition description: Original
Pages: 304
Sales rank: 882,911
Product dimensions: 6.13(w) x 9.25(h) x 1.18(d)