Burn the Evidence: A Gripping Detective Thriller

Burn the Evidence: A Gripping Detective Thriller

by Keith Nixon
3.5 2

NOOK Book1. Aufl. 2017 (eBook - 1. Aufl. 2017)

$2.99
Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
LendMe® See Details
Want a NOOK ? Explore Now

Overview

Burn the Evidence: A Gripping Detective Thriller by Keith Nixon

Accomplished writing from one of the best authors in the UK." - M.W. Craven, author of the Washington Poe series "Keith Nixon is one hell of a writer." - Ken Bruen, author of the Jack Taylor series "Keith Nixon’s latest Solomon Gray murder mystery pushes all the hot button issues of a traumatised post-Brexit UK in this dark tale of loss, revenge and redemption. Flawed and floored by personal tragedy, DS Solomon Gray is ready to take his place alongside DS Logan McRae, DS Roy Grace and DCI John Luther. Modern jet-black Brit Noir at its best." - Tim Baker, CWA shortlisted author of Fever City "A compelling murder mystery with a multilayered and engaging new hero. Great read." - Mason Cross, author of the Carter Blake thriller series "A damaged detective, haunted by a tragic past, a young son missing or dead, a man on a quest for redemption. Detective Sergeant Solomon Gray is a fine creation and Dig Two Graves an intriguing, nourish mystery. Keith Nixon is a sparkling crime fiction talent." - Howard Linskey, author of the David Blake crime series "A dark, uncompromising tale of loss, murder, and revenge. Glorious noir, which takes the police procedural elements and gives them new life. I can't wait to read the next step in Solomon Gray's journey for answers ..." - Luca Veste, author of the Murphy and Rossi series "... deeply emotional, a dark rollercoaster ride." - Ed James, author of bestselling DI Fenchurch series Mixing business with family can be a murderous affair ... A body washes up on the beach near Ramsgate in the South of England. For DS Solomon Gray, the case appears cut and dried-a drowning. An immigrant. Another victim to the sea in his desperate attempt to reach the UK. As the tidewaters recede, two more corpses surface. One appears to be a refugee, stabbed to death. The other, Gray recognises immediately. Regan Armitage: son of business tycoon Jake Armitage. Gray knows this means trouble. A post mortem reveals ligature marks on Regan's wrists. Drugs in his bloodstream. All signs indicate murder. Armitage swears to track down his son's killer and avenge his death. Gray's investigation points to a deadly fire ten years prior, and soon Armitage comes under suspicion. But DS Gray knows what it's like to lose a child and puts aside his distrust of Armitage to help. How are the dead men connected to each other-and to the infamous fire? It's then that Gray gets another tip on the whereabouts of his own missing son, Tom ... BURN THE EVIDENCE is the second book in a series featuring Detective Sergeant Solomon Gray. The crime series is perfect for fans of Ian Rankin, Stuart MacBride, and Peter James. About the Author Keith Nixon is a British born writer of crime and historical fiction novels. Originally he trained as a chemist, but Keith is now in a senior sales role for a high-tech business. Keith currently lives with his family in the North West of England.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9783732541829
Publisher: Bastei Entertainment
Publication date: 12/12/2017
Series: Detective Solomon Gray Series , #2
Sold by: Readbox
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 273
Sales rank: 918,257
File size: 1 MB
Age Range: 14 - 18 Years

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Burn the Evidence: A Gripping Detective Thriller 3.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
brf1948 More than 1 year ago
Burn the Evidence is the second in the Detective Solomon Grey series by author Keith Nixon. Like the first in this series, this is a fast read, a well-timed British police procedural with easy to like police and hard-nosed bad guys. I enjoyed getting to know better the essential personnel in this series, and found the prose colorful and interesting. Unlike the first in this series, there is no closure at the end of this novel, however. Will have to read Solomon Gray #3 to see how this one ends.
booklover- More than 1 year ago
3.5 Stars BURN OF EVIDENCE sees the return of DS Solomon Gray in this second of a series. It starts with the three bodies that wash up on the beach. One was drowned, one was stabbed and the other is the son of a very prominent businessman. Regan Armitage had quite a reputation .. the spoiled son of a very rich man, he felt entitled to all sorts of things, especially women. Even though drugs were found in his body, most people who knew of him swear the boy never took drugs. So what was he doing with the other dead men and why are they all dead? Gray's investigation leads him to a series of crimes, one being an arson fire that killed a family. And while this investigation is underway, Gray gets a tip on the whereabouts of his missing son. The story takes the reader from the here and now to back to what was happening prior. Characters are well defined, especially that of Solomon Gray. Solomon is a very vivid character. With all the losses he has suffered, work is now the only thing he has .. and that makes him a very determined man, if not a likable man. The solid writing, memorable characters, suspenseful story line make this an excellent addition to an ongoing series. Although this works okay as a stand-alone, I highly recommend reading from the beginning. My one complaint is that the ending seemed very abrupt, with a huge cliff hanger. Many thanks to the author / be-ebooks / Netgalley for the advance digital copy of this crime thriller. Opinions expressed here are unbiased and entirely my own.