BY THE SEA Book Two AMANDA

BY THE SEA Book Two AMANDA

by Antoinette Stockenberg

NOOK Book(eBook)

$2.99
Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
LendMe® See Details
Want a NOOK ? Explore Now

Overview

BY THE SEA Book Two AMANDA by Antoinette Stockenberg

In the tradition of Upstairs, Downstairs and Downton Abbey, BY THE SEA is a four-book series that sweeps from the Gilded Age through the Gatsby Era's Roaring Twenties and then on to the Great Depression, culminating nearly a century later in Newport, Rhode Island, wealthy and alluring "City by the Sea." Set against a backdrop of mansions, the glorious America's Cup Yacht Races, and new money, the series traces the passions and adventures of three families from three different classes.



Book Two: AMANDA. Marrying American money to an English title is a tradition of its own; but Amanda Fain, a brash heiress with money to burn, has a fondness for Bolsheviks and bootleg liquor that makes her an unlikely match for the reluctant, ironic, and impoverished English aristocrat Geoffrey Seton, who has been ordered to America to find someone who can pay the bills for the family estate back home.


Also Available:
Book One: TESS
Book Three: LAURA
Book Four: THE HEIRS

Product Details

BN ID: 2940148686811
Publisher: Antoinette Stockenberg
Publication date: 07/30/2013
Series: BY THE SEA
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Sales rank: 156,259
File size: 244 KB

About the Author

USA Today bestselling novelist Antoinette Stockenberg grew up wanting to be a cowgirl and have her own horse (her great-grandfather bred horses for the carriage trade back in the old country), but the geography just didn't work out: there weren't many ranches in Chicago. Her other, more doable dream was to write books, and after stints as secretary, programmer, teacher, grad student, boatyard hand, office manager and magazine writer (in that order), she achieved that goal, writing over a dozen novels, several of them with paranormal elements. One of them is the RITA award-winning EMILY'S GHOST.

Stockenberg's books have been published in a dozen languages and are often set in quaint New England harbor towns, always with a dose of humor. She writes about complex family relationships and the fallout that old, unearthed secrets can have on them. Sometimes there's an old murder. Sometimes there's an old ghost. Sometimes once-lovers find one another after half a lifetime apart.

Her work has been compared to writers as diverse as Barbara Freethy, Nora Roberts, LaVyrle Spencer and Mary Stewart by critics and authors alike, and her novels have appeared on bestseller lists in USA Today as well as the national bookstore chains. Her website features sample chapters, numerous reviews, many photos, and an enchanting Christmas section. www.antoinettestockenberg.com

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

BY THE SEA, Book Two: AMANDA 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 32 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book. It's a witty and charming romance and completely different in tone from Book One, "Tess", which was a more serious look into the gap between rich and poor in nineteenth century America. Both books were great. Can't wait for Book Three.
Nan42 More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book! Plot development kept me interested -- in a hurry to reach the end, but not really wanting the book to end! Now am anxious to move on to Book Three! This author has won a fan! I first read Tidewater, and now have moved into the By the Sea series. Her collection of titles should keep me reading for quite some time!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
After reading Book One with its new last chapter, I wasn't sure what to expect with Book Two, Amanda. It turned out to be a very pleasant read. Lighthearted escapism with a good dash of humor. Now am curious about Book Three.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was an easy read love story and a pleasant read for the beach. I really enjoyed the give and take between Amanda and the hero, an Englishman who has to get used to our American ways of doing things. Waiting for Book Three!
RRPNC More than 1 year ago
Great book!  Recommend Very Highly!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Stockenberg hit it with this one-waiting for #4
Hmnbrd49 More than 1 year ago
Wasn't sure what to expect, but was a good read. I also purchased the first book, and it is worth the read as well.
mosesmom More than 1 year ago
I have the first two books of By The Sea. Have not found books Three and Four. If someone can help me, please reply to review. I look forward to reading them all.
Trisha11PL More than 1 year ago
Like Book One ("By the Sea, Tess"), I found the story overall enjoyable, but short. I liked it better than Book One......maybe because I knew what to expect, which was an intensive character description, with enough hook to make you want to know more about their story. It was somewhat predictable, but I still enjoyed the way the author intertwined the events of the day, as well as managed to touch on events that seemed to 'lightly' connect to the previous book. I'm used to her books being more complete, and not such an abrupt tease to the next book. The story is developed just enough to 'get into', only to wrap everything up "in the last five minutes". I want to see this series through, but now when I read Book Three, I'll have a better idea of what to expect (or not expect). Overall, it's a quick and enjoyable read. .
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
enchanting
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
What an enjoyable series. I got hooked on Book One, "Tess," and read straight through the other three books and was sorry when they were over. Book Two, "Amanda," is fun and amusing and captures the mood of the roaring twenties. Amanda herself is a spoiled American heiress looking for meaning in her life. Geoffrey Seton is an Englishman recovering from the Great War and looking for meaning in his life. Not hard to do the math.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
,
PoodlesCJ More than 1 year ago
I highly recommend this book. It is a page turner.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I'm really enjoying the By The Sea series. I started them on my Nook during the snow and power outage this winter. I really like reading a series and this is no exception.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I found Amanda to be a pain in the neck for her family and Geof, who is from England and looking for a rich bride. Why he would consider Amanda is a stretch for me.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was rather irritated that the book abruptly ended on page 371 of 459. Nearly ninety pages of advertising at the end! Really excessive I'd say. The book was OK for a lighthearted read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Characters are entertaining Csnt wait for book 3!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read the first book in this series and thought it was great. However, something was lacking in this book. I really did not care for Amanda that much, maybe that was it. Anyway, I am looking forward to the next book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I'm disappointed in this so-called series! I enjoyed the book on its own, but I can't figure out why it's a series, other than both stories take place in Westport. I've read 2 of the books now and really wanted the first to continue in the 2nd, which it did not. At the end of Amanda, the statement is made you can find out what happens to Amanda and Geoff through other characters in the next 2 books. After reading an excerpt of Book #3, I can't tell that it's any more true than it was after book #1.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A quick summer beach read. Waiting to see how characters in Book One and Two play out in remaining books in series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Disappointed with Amanda Book Two. Tess Book One was so much more enjoyable.