Call Down Heaven's Fire

Call Down Heaven's Fire

by Charles F. Price

NOOK Book(eBook)


Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details

Product Details

BN ID: 2940016087078
Publisher: Charles F. Price
Publication date: 01/06/2013
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
File size: 323 KB

About the Author

Charles F. Price is the author of nine published novels (including three Westerns) and one nonfiction work, forthcoming in Spring 2013 entitled Season of Terror: The Espinosas in Central Colorado, March – October, 1863 (University Press of Colorado). Jerry Thompson, Ph.D., Regents Professor of History at Texas A&M International University, says of Season of Terror, it is "Fast-paced, amazingly objective, intriguing, and highly recommended .... "

Brian Lee Knopp, Author, Mayhem in Mayberry, wrote of Charles F. Price's Western Vengeance on the Sweetgrass, this novel is a “stunningly well-crafted tale of greed and get-back set amid America's 19th century range wars. Price weaves these two twisted strands of motivation together so cunningly and convincingly that one 1889 Wyoming atrocity becomes the barbed-wire genetic blueprint for an entire nation hell-bent for fulfilling its "Manifest Destiny" by way of the knife, the gun, or the rope…”

Price's fifth novel is Nor the Battle to the Strong: A Novel of the American Revolution in the South (Frederick C. Beil, Savannah, GA, 2008), an account of a crucial but unjustly neglected military campaign in South Carolina during the summer of 1781. The Historical Novel Society review called it "A treasure trove of detail ..., vivid characterization, and hard truths about the nature of warfare. ..."

"Forceful and gritty, Price's debut is a gripping tale of brutality and sacrifice during the Civil War... Price's narrative is crisp and vivid, with sharply focused descriptions and dialogue…" is what Publishers Weekly said of Hiwassee: A Novel of the Civil War (Academy Chicago). This book was the first in the Hiwassee Series, four works of historical fiction set in his native Western North Carolina, comprising a single narrative cycle interweaving the partly imagined private history of his 19th-century ancestors with the public history of the Southern Appalachians. The other three novels are Freedom’s Altar (John F. Blair), The Cock’s Spur (John F. Blair), and Where the Water-Dogs Laughed (High County Publishers). Awards he received for this series include the Sir Walter Raleigh Award for the best fiction written by a North Carolina author (1999), Independent Publisher Book Award as one of the Ten Outstanding Books of 2001 and Story Teller of the Year (2001), two Historical Fiction Awards from the North Carolina Society of Historians, a nominatio

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews