The Call of Distant Shores

The Call of Distant Shores

by David Niall Wilson

NOOK Book(eBook)

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
Want a NOOK ? Explore Now


The Call of Distant Shores by David Niall Wilson

Updated edition with notes from the author: Thirteen tales of Elder Gods, Darkness, horror and Lovecraftian madness by Bram Stoker Award Winning author David Niall Wilson. From crazed sculpting tenants, to giant wooden cockroaches, to Tarot cards and a creepy old barber shop, these stories lead through doorways and down corridors that are not of this world. Published for the first time in this volume is the story Anomaly.

Contents Include:

Author's Introduction
Glenn & The Tart of Mortar Psycho Maine Tenants
The Milk of Paradise
Are You Lookin' For Herb?
Cockroach Suckers
Darkness, and the Light
Death, and His Brother Sleep
Death Did Not Become Him – with Patricia Lee Macomber
From My Reflection, Darkly
The Lost Wisdom of Instinct
Rending the Veil
The Hall of Captured Gods
The Call of Distant Shores


"If you revere the 'traditionalists' of the horror field like I do -- Lovecraft, Hugh B. Cave, Clark Ashton Smith, Manly Wade Wellman (who was one of my mentors, I'm proud to say) -- then you'll love these tales. Many of them would have had pride of place in any issue of Weird Tales in the 30s or 40s."
--Al Sarrantonio, author of Skeletons, Moonbane, and Halloween and Other Seasons

Product Details

BN ID: 2940012952226
Publisher: Crossroad Press
Publication date: 06/08/2011
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
File size: 800 KB

About the Author

David Niall Wilson has been writing and publishing horror, dark fantasy, and science fiction since the mid-eighties. An ordained minister, once President of the Horror Writer's Association and multiple recipient of the Bram Stoker Award, his novels include Maelstrom, The Mote in Andrea's Eye, Deep Blue, the Grails Covenant Trilogy, Star Trek Voyager: Chrysalis, Except You Go Through Shadow, This is My Blood, Ancient Eyes, On the Third Day, The Orffyreus Wheel, and Vintage Soul. Heart of a Dragon – the chronological first book in the DeChance Chronicles is now available. The Stargate Atlantis novel “Brimstone,” written with Patricia Lee Macomber is his most recent title in print – upcoming is The Second Veil, Tales of the Scattered Earth Book II. He has over 150 short stories published in anthologies, magazines, and five collections, the most recent of which were "Defining Moments" published in 2007 by WFC Award winning Sarob Press, and the currently available “Ennui & Other States of Madness,” from Dark Regions Press. His work has appeared in and is due out in various anthologies and magazines. David lives and loves with Patricia Lee Macomber in Hertford, NC with their children, Billy, Zach, Zane, and Katie, and occasionally their genius college daughter Stephanie. David is CEO and founder of Crossroad Press, a cutting edge digital publishing company specializing in electronic novels, collections, and non-fiction, as well as unabridged audiobooks

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews