Called Up: A heartwarming, sexy small-town baseball romance

Called Up: A heartwarming, sexy small-town baseball romance

by Jen Doyle

NOOK BookOriginal (eBook - Original)

$3.99
Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
Want a NOOK ? Explore Now

Overview

Called Up: A heartwarming, sexy small-town baseball romance by Jen Doyle

Jen Doyle delivers a home run of heart, heat and plenty of laughter in this contemporary romance, perfect for fans of Jill Shalvis's Pacific Heat series

There's one thing Max "Deke" Deacon can always count on besides his old high school teammates: Angelica "Fitz" Hawkins. But no matter how much Deke might secretly fantasize otherwise, a relationship with his best friend's sister is off limits. Until one unexpectedly smoldering encounter has Deke and Fitz giving in to the feelings they've both been fighting for far too long.

Fitz knows for a fact that it is not better to have loved and lost. After losing her parents, she'd rather lock up her heart and throw away the key than endure that kind of pain again. If that means giving up any hope of a lasting relationship, then so be it.

But with Deke, Fitz feels dangerously close to falling in love. She can't risk another broken heart—especially if it means losing one of her best friends for good. Now it's up to Deke to convince her that the safest place she could ever be is right here with him.

This book is approximately 100,000 words

One-click with confidence. This title is part of the Carina Press Romance Promise: all the romance you're looking for with an HEA/HFN. It's a promise!

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781459294356
Publisher: Carina Press
Publication date: 08/29/2016
Sold by: HARLEQUIN
Format: NOOK Book
Sales rank: 234,560
File size: 2 MB

About the Author

A big believer in happily ever afters, Jen Doyle decided it was high time she started creating some. She has an M.S. in Library and Information Science and has worked as a librarian, an events planner, and an administrator in both preschool and higher ed environments (some might say that there is very little difference between the two; Jen has no comment regarding whether she is one of the “some”). For more information, see www.jendoyleink.com. (Rep'd by Sarah Younger)

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Called Up: A heartwarming, sexy small-town baseball romance 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 8 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I may have loved this one more than the first in the series. He's the guy Ice always wanted and shes the girl I want to be.
GwennieGwen More than 1 year ago
Loved Loved Loved this book! Deke is one of the five members of the The Iowa Dream.....a championship high school basketball team with his best friends. Now an adult, he is faced with a dilemna....he has found himself lusting after his best friend and fellow Dream Team member's little sister Fitz. Unbeknownst to Deke, Fitz fills the same way, always has. Having a had a hard time as a teenager, all Fitz wants is to blend into the background and not be the center of attention. Being involved with playboy Deke will draw attention back on to her. She just can't go thru the scrutiny again. Will Deke wear Fitz down and give her the happily ever after she truly deserves or will Fitz block him every step of the way?
JensReadingObsession More than 1 year ago
I first met Deke and Fitz in the first book of the series. There is plenty of chemistry between them and of course all of the problems that come with a friends-to-lovers relationship that also involves a best friend/older brother situation. Although they've known each other since high school, they've never been more than friends. All of a sudden, they are both seeing each other in a new light, but that friendship makes it harder for Fitz to want more. Deke is a bit of a playboy, but he has gotten sick of playing the field and is ready to give it a try with Fitz. Fitz's past plays a big part in her reluctance to fall in love, but Deke does not give up easily. I loved getting to catch up a bit with Nate and Dorie from the first book and am looking forward to seeing the rest of the guys find their happily ever after. I received an ARC via NetGalley for the purpose of an honest review. I was not compensated for this review, all conclusions are my own.
Nicolerko More than 1 year ago
I love a friends to lovers story. I was a little iffy when I first started thins book, but I ended up really enjoying it. Fitz hasn't had an easy time of it, but she ended up with some really good people in her corner. Deke always looked at Fitz differently, but now he knows the feelings are mutual. Past secrets come out so Deke has a better picture of Fitz. Only problem secrets are still being kept. I feel for Fitz because of what her dad did she believes that she doesn't deserve a fairytale ending, but she can't forget she's got Deke in her corner. I would love to have someone like Deke in my corner. The way he is there for her and stands up for her is beautiful.
JenMcKinney04 More than 1 year ago
I have a new favorite author and a new favorite series. I fell in love with Fitz and Deke immediately. And then I fell in love with all of their friends. Jen Doyle created a town that I would love to live in and could just as easily be my friends... if my best friends owned a bar and played professional baseball. There is nothing new about Fitz and Deke's love story. They've been friends forever. All of a sudden they begin seeing each other as something more than friends. Hijinx ensue. Doyle does a great job of writing this with a perfect mix of humor, romance, and sexiness. Since this is the second book in a series, I had to immediately go and read the first book, and I guarantee you will too.
Bette313 More than 1 year ago
Loved this story! From the first page to the last I was captivated. It's a classic best friend's little sister trope but it is very well done and the characters of Fitz and Deke make it fresh and unique. Fitz never plans to open her heart to love again. After the terrible loss of her parents she never wants to risk feeling that pain again. So when she starts seeing her friend Deke in a new and scary way she tries her best to push those feelings and Deke away. Deke's not going away that easily though. Now that he has seen and tasted Fitz as a woman there is no way he can let her go. Convincing Fitz to give them a chance may be the hardest thing he's ever done. Definitely a recommended read!
LynnB888 More than 1 year ago
A fun follow up to Calling It! I enjoyed the book, but I did feel like there were a lot of characters, relatives and past relationships thrown at us in the first paragraph or two which was a bit hard to follow, and I even recognized some already from the first book, but still found it hard to keep up. Max Deacon AKA Deke and Angelica Hawkins AKA Fitz adore each other. They have been the best of friends for years and year and know the other one is always there for them no matter what. Neither of them has been willing to admit to their past crushes on each other, but when attraction finally rears it’s head between them, they have to admit they are interested in each other. They attempt to fight it … she is his best friend’s little sister after all … but the fighting doesn’t last long! Deke has a huge reputation for his player ways, and Fitz isn’t interested in a relationship at all … but will adding this aspect to their relationship make them both dream of forever?
Lashea677 More than 1 year ago
There is fear in exposing the weakest parts of the soul. That vulnerability can be easily susceptible to hurt and makes it hard to recover if the wounds are deep enough. Called Up explores the frailties of the heart and how sacrifice and risk, though scary are beneficial to keeping hope alive. Deke is Fitz's other half. He lifts her spirits, encourages her dreams and forces her to face her emotions despite the difficulty of doing so. He's someone that she's come to rely on and that is the one thing she cannot and will not allow. She knows the pain of loneliness and the darkness of loss. No way will she allow those emotions into her life again. Letting go is not easy, but the right thing to do. Deke has seen Fitz at her worst. He knows her fears. She challenges him at every turn, breaking his heart little by little as she pushes him away. What she doesn't fathom is for him the unknown is worth the risk and he'll do whatever it takes to keep from losing the woman he secretly loves. Ms. Doyle examines the uncertainty of falling in love in an easily understood setting that is full of so many emotions it's gritty, painful but well written and disturbingly accurate.