The Cambridge Companion to Mozart / Edition 1

The Cambridge Companion to Mozart / Edition 1

Pub. Date:
Cambridge University Press


View All Available Formats & Editions
Current price is , Original price is $41.99. You
Select a Purchase Option (New Edition)
  • purchase options
  • purchase options


The Cambridge Companion to Mozart / Edition 1

Bridging the gap between scholarly and popular images of Mozart, this volume provides comprehensive coverage of all of his important works; the reception of his music since his death; the contexts which inform his work and his significance as a performer. It paints a rounded yet focused picture of one of the most revered artists of all time and enhances readers' appreciation of his extraordinary output.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780521001922
Publisher: Cambridge University Press
Publication date: 06/01/2003
Series: Cambridge Companions to Music Series
Edition description: New Edition
Pages: 312
Product dimensions: 6.85(w) x 9.72(h) x 1.10(d)

About the Author

Simon P. Keefe is Lecturer in Music at Queen� University, Belfast. He is the author of Mozart� Piano Concertos: Dramatic Dialogue in the Age of Enlightenment (2001).

Table of Contents

Introduction Simon P. Keefe; Chronology of Mozart's Life and Works Simon P. Keefe; Part I. Mozart in Context: 1. Mozart and Salzburg Cliff Eisen; 2. Mozart in Vienna Dorothea Link; 3. Mozart's compositional methods: writing for his singers Ian Woodfield; 4. Mozart and late eighteenth-century aesthetics David Schroeder; Part II. The Works: 5. The keyboard music W. Dean Sutcliffe; 6. The concertos in aesthetic and stylistic context Simon P. Keefe; 7. The orchestral music Simon P. Keefe; 8. Mozart's chamber music Cliff Eisen; 9. Mozart as a vocal composer Paul Corneilson; 10. The opere buffe Edmund J. Goehring; 11. Mozart and opera seria Julian Rushton; 12. Mozart's German operas David J. Buch; Part III. Reception: 13. Mozart in the nineteenth century John Daverio; 14. Mozart and the twentieth century Jan Smaczny; 15. The Evolution of Mozartian biography William Stafford; Part IV. Performance: 16. Mozart the performer Katalin Komlós; 17. Performance practice in the music of Mozart Robert D. Levin.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews