Candlemoth: A Novel

Candlemoth: A Novel

by R. J. Ellory

Paperback

$15.26 $16.95 Save 10% Current price is $15.26, Original price is $16.95. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Tuesday, July 23

Overview

With the verve and gift for gripping storytelling that made his previous books international bestsellers, R.J. Ellory returns with a dramatic saga of murder and retribution, set in the tumultuous 1960s.


Daniel Ford and Nathan Verney were six years old when they first met by a South Carolina lake and became best friends against all odds—Daniel was white, and Nathan was black. Thirty years later, Daniel is convicted of Nathan’s murder, and he now faces the long, lonely walk to the electric chair. With time running out until his execution, Daniel tells a sympathetic priest his story, sweeping through first loves, Vietnam, and, finally, the pair’s flight from the draft, which ended in Nathan's brutal murder. A powerful vision of the American South in an age of upheaval, Candlemoth is a stunning suspense novel—and an unforgettable tale of lost friendship.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781468308761
Publisher: The Overlook Press
Publication date: 04/29/2014
Pages: 352
Product dimensions: 5.30(w) x 7.90(h) x 1.00(d)
Age Range: 18 Years

About the Author

R.J.
Ellory is the author of twelve novels, including the bestselling A Quiet Belief in Angels, which was Strand Magazine’s Thriller of the Year,
shortlisted for the Barry Award, and a finalist for the SIBA Award. He is also the author of City of Lies, Candlemoth, A
Quiet Vendetta, The Anniversary Man, A Simple Act of Violence, and the e-book original series Three Days in
Chicagoland.

What People are Saying About This

From the Publisher

“The storytelling’s beckoning quality and the conclusion’s welcome twist easily bury [all] grievances. Englishman Ellory convincingly disproves the belief of many that southern writing can’t be convincingly mimicked. For fans of Tom Franklin, John Hart, and, remarkably, even Pat Conroy.”  —Booklist

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Candlemoth 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
runner56 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
R J Ellory's books are about human nature and human emotion exposed....You cannot help but be touched and greatly affected by his writing long after the book is finished. What I find so powerful in this and other books is is depiction of childhood and how our childhood experiences stay and affect us all our lives. Candlemoth is about being on death row and the realization and inevitably of our own mortality, this is a great starting point to evaluate and make sense of our lives. Candlemoth is a beautifully written, constructed and paced novel and I urge you to read it as it may come some way in helping us all make sense of our own meagre existence!
aka_fun on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I really did enjoy this book. Although, it took forever to read. Not the writer's fault, mine. The references to events -- Vietnam, Kennedy, Cuba, Kent State, drugs, free love, etc. -- kept bringing back memories. I'd find myself thinking about the time while my eyeballs just kept going. I was a little disappointed by the ending, but I don't know if I'd be happier if it ended differently.