Can't Buy Me Love (The Cost of Loving Series, #1)

Can't Buy Me Love (The Cost of Loving Series, #1)

by Martin Humphries

NOOK Book(eBook)


Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details


It's the sixties, and London might be swinging, but not for our girl, Edith. Raised in a miserable home full of anger and hate, life for poor Edith seems to hold little hope. But she finds plenty when she teams up with her older gay cousin, Ronnie, who makes her his mission to transform her - 'Cinderella-like' – into the woman he knows she deserves to be.

Once free of her abusive father and her weak, defenseless mother, the changes are swift and dramatic as, suddenly, life is an exciting adventure, full of twists and turns. Edith's coming of age becomes a roller-coaster ride of glorious highs and frightening lows, until her father comes back to haunt her. But will a dazzling - yet thoroughly unconventional - Prince Charming step up to claim her? And, if so, where will it take her and how will it end? Who will win and who will lose?

'Can't Buy Me Love' is the first of six volumes in the 'The Cost of Loving' Series. If you like stories of success over adversity, family dramas and sexual diversity, then you will love Martin Humphries' bitter-sweet voyage of discovery through some of the most exciting years in living memory. Years chock full of changes of every kind, when being gay usually spelled trouble with a capital T.

Start traveling this fascinating journey through the 60's, 70's and 80's today by buying 'Can't Buy Me Love' BONUS EDITION, and follow Edith through London, Europe and Hollywood, over two decades, as she matures from troubled teenager to famous beauty.

Product Details

BN ID: 2940155390626
Publisher: Paradise Island Publishing
Publication date: 02/21/2018
Series: The Cost of Loving Series , #1
Sold by: Draft2Digital
Format: NOOK Book
Sales rank: 131,405
File size: 1 MB

About the Author

Martin Humphries is a first time author who, once he started writing, couldn’t stop. Now, after five industrious years, Martin has completed ‘The Cost of Loving’ Series of which ‘Can’t Buy Me Love’ is the first volume.

Five more volumes, ‘Love For Sale’, ‘Free Love’, “Love Don’t Cost a Thing’, ‘The Price of Love’ and ‘Love Hurts’ complete this dramatic coming of age story that spreads over two decades and two continents. It is a bittersweet, rollercoaster ride of a life lived in the spotlight and with the dark side well hidden from view.

After so many decades of life, Martin is full of stories that need to be told and is busy working on several of them right now. These include a sequel series to ‘The Cost of Loving’ that follows our cast of characters through ‘The Plague Years’ of the 1980’s and beyond, when AIDS changed everything.

Martin lives quietly on Gabriola Island, one of the Gulf Islands off Vancouver, on Canada’s wild and rugged west coast, but enjoys some excitement vicariously through his lively cast of imaginary characters.

It’s a wonderful place to write, surrounded by so many other creative people, his partner of twenty three years, Paul, and the best dog in the world, Alfie.

Martin’s web site is and you can contact him there, or on Facebook.

Customer Reviews