Capitol Collectors Series

Capitol Collectors Series

by Louis PrimaLouis Prima


$11.39 $11.99 Save 5% Current price is $11.39, Original price is $11.99. You Save 5%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


What Louis Prima accomplished musically in the company of Sam Butera and the Witnesses and vocalist Keely Smith is in hard evidence on this excellent 26-track compilation. All the classics are aboard with excellent liner notes from Scott Shea and crisp transfers of the original masters ("Angelina-Zooma Zooma," "That Old Black Magic," "I've Got You Under My Skin," "Buona Sera" -- which includes a great snippet of studio chatter kicking it off -- "Oh Marie," and the obligatory "Just a Gigolo-I Ain't Got Nobody"). Although this duplicates several tracks with Rhino's Zooma! Zooma! compilation, with the addition of several singles and unissued tracks, this stands as the best single-disc collection available of Prima's tenure with Capitol Records. The perfect place to start your Louis Prima collection.

Product Details

Release Date: 05/21/1991
Label: Emd Int'l
UPC: 0077779407224
catalogNumber: 794072
Rank: 10449

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Louis Prima   Primary Artist,Trumpet,Vocals
Bob Roberts   Guitar
Keely Smith   Track Performer
Sam Butera   Tenor Saxophone
Jack Marshall   Guitar
James Vincent   Drums
Rolly Dee   Bass
Paul Ferrara   Drums
Harvey Lang   Drums
Tony Liuzza   Bass
James Marshall   Guitar
Willie McCumber   Piano
John Nagy   Piano
Amato Rodriguez   Bass
Allan Seltzer   Guitar
Lou Sineaux   Trombone
Morgan Thomas   Trumpet
James Blount   Trombone
Bobby Morris   Drums
Bob Roberts   Guitar

Technical Credits

Irving Berlin   Composer
Louis Prima   Composer
Hoagy Carmichael   Composer
W.C. Handy   Composer
Harold Arlen   Composer
Richard Berry   Composer
Oscar McLollie & His Honey Jumpers   Composer
Sidney Arodin   Composer
Irving Caesar   Composer
Mark Fisher   Composer
Voyle Gilmore   Producer
Joe Goodwin   Composer
Roger Graham   Composer
Milt Kabak   Composer
Cole Porter   Composer
Michael Riley   Composer
Harry Beasley Smith   Composer
Ted Snyder   Composer
Clarence Williams   Composer
Spencer Williams   Composer
Wayne Watkins   Executive Producer
Tommy Steele   Art Direction
Scott Shea   Liner Notes
Eddie Farley   Composer
T. Klages   Composer
Don Donaldson   Composer
Jerry Joyce   Composer
Ted Koehler   Composer
Joe Josea   Composer
Doris Fisher   Composer
Larry Shay   Composer
Francis Wheeler   Composer
Leonello Casucci   Composer
Paolo Citarella   Composer
Eduardo DeCapua   Composer
Charles Warfield   Composer
Jerry Winn   Composer
Red Hodgson   Composer
Allan Roberts   Composer
Julius Brammer   Composer
Debbie Morris   Composer
Stan Irwin   Composer
Vic Knight   Composer

Customer Reviews