Pub. Date:
Capitol Punishment: The Megadeth Years

Capitol Punishment: The Megadeth Years

by MegadethMegadeth


$13.66 $13.99 Save 2% Current price is $13.66, Original price is $13.99. You Save 2%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, September 30


Vocalist/guitarist Dave Mustaine formed the thrash-metal band Megadeth after he was fired from an early version of Metallica. Although Megadeth never scaled the commercial and critical heights of his former band -- which probably added to the sting of the firing -- it still achieved steady mainstream success. The only constant in Megadeth besides the moody Mustaine is bassist David Ellefson. The fluctuating lineup has included guitarists Al Pitrelli, Marty Friedman, Jeff Young and Chris Poland and drummers Jimmy DeGrasso, Nick Menza, Chuck Behler and Gar Samuelson. 2000's Capitol Punishment: The Megadeth Years is a terrific best of that collects two new songs, "Kill the King" and "Dread & The Fugitive Mind," and 12 others from the band's seven full-length Capitol Records albums. (Nothing from the soundtrack and tribute-album compilation EP Hidden Treasures is included.) The running order of this bitterly titled Capitol contract wrap-up is interesting because the songs are in reverse chronological order, and this shows how Megadeth has evolved musically. The newer material utilizes different instrumental textures and tempo changes while the early songs are full of the power, aggression and, uh, "spit" and vinegar of youth. "Kill the King" (not a Rainbow cover) rumbles along while relying on a catchy chorus. It wouldn't be surprising if the roaring "Crush 'Em" becomes a sports-event anthem. "Use the Man" is a harrowing warning about drug addiction, and Mustaine should know because he's a former heroin addict. Latter-day Megadeth is highlighted by "Trust," "A Tout Le Monde" and "Train of Consequences." 1992's Countdown to Extinction was Megadeth's most commercially successful album and it's represented by "Sweating Bullets" and "Symphony of Destruction," which actually charted as a single. Early stunners are "Hangar 18," "Holy Wars ... The Punishment Due" and "Peace Sells." The liner notes include lyrics but, unfortunately, no photos.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 10/24/2000
Label: Emd Int'l
UPC: 0724352591626
catalogNumber: 525916
Rank: 43205


  1. Kill the King
  2. Dread and the Fugitive Mind
  3. Crush 'Em
  4. Use the Man
  5. Almost Honest
  6. Trust
  7. A Tout le Monde
  8. Train of Consequences
  9. Sweating Bullets
  10. Symphony of Destruction
  11. Hangar 18
  12. Holy Wars...The Punishment Due
  13. In My Darkest Hour
  14. Peace Sells

Album Credits

Customer Reviews