by David Schiff


View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Monday, August 2


Elliott Carter (1908-2012) was the foremost composer of classical music in America during the second half of the 20th century. Over the course of a career that spanned seven decades, he consistently produced works that critics hailed as creatively daring, intellectually demanding, and emotionally complex. Distancing himself from the various "schools" and movements that grew and waned in popularity during the postwar era, Carter cultivated a deeply personal musical style that he developed and refined up until the very end of his life.

This book of the composer springs from author David Schiff's life-long interest in Elliott Carter's music and his close personal connection with the composer which spanned over forty years. This critical overview of Carter's life and work explores aspects of the composer's life about which he was usually reticent—and occasionally misleading—such as his complicated relationships with Charles Ives, Aaron Copland, Nicolas Nabokov, and his own parents. Schiff's study of Carter's complete oeuvre—from his politically charged Depression-era ballets to the deeply personal and reflective late works—is based on extensive study of the composer's personal sketches and letters. Featuring an in-depth look at the legacy project of Carter's final decade, seven settings of American modernist poetry by E.E. Cummings, T.S. Eliot, Marianne Moore, Ezra Pound, Wallace Stevens and William Carlos Williams, this newest addition to the Master Musicians Series paints with a fine brush the story of America's foremost composer of the second half of the twentieth century.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780190259150
Publisher: Oxford University Press
Publication date: 08/01/2018
Series: Master Musicians Series
Pages: 296
Sales rank: 1,206,733
Product dimensions: 6.20(w) x 9.40(h) x 1.10(d)

About the Author

David Schiff is a composer, conductor, and writer. He was educated at Columbia and Cambridge Universities, at the Manhattan School of Music and at the Juilliard School where he studied with Elliott Carter for three years. In addition to the two editions of his Music of Elliott Carter, he has written books about the music of George Gershwin and Duke Ellington, and numerous articles about music for The New York Times, The Atlantic Monthly, the Times Literary Supplement, and The Nation.

Table of Contents

Author's note

1. Elliott Carter Now
2. Remembering Mr. Carter
3. A brief life of a very long life
4. A Modernistic Education (1924-1935)
5. Musician, wrestling (1935-1945)
6. Turning Points (1946-1948)
7. Back to Modernism. Back to Futurism. Back to New York a. Neo-modernism b. An avant-garde composer?
c. Composer in New York
8. Carter v. Poets (round 1)
9. Macro Carter/ Micro Carter
10. Multi-vehicle Accidents
11. Bagatelles
12. Carter v. Poets (round 2)
13. Farewell Symphonies
14. Epilogue: "Every note has life in it."

Appendix: Carter's Musical Signatures
1. Chronology of Carter's life
2. Chronological list of Carter's published music
3. Chronology of American composers
4. Chronology of notable premiers of American classical music

Customer Reviews