Casey Abrams

Casey Abrams

by Casey AbramsCasey Abrams


$15.69 $15.99 Save 2% Current price is $15.69, Original price is $15.99. You Save 2%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Friday, April 23


Alone among the anonymous American Idol hopefuls at the beginning of season ten, Casey Abrams cut somewhat of a memorable figure -- possibly because he had the gumption to kiss judge Jennifer Lopez, possibly because behind his scruffy, friendly, hippie demeanor hid an old-fashioned, jazzy, blue-eyed soul singer. The latter is naturally emphasized on his 2012 eponymous debut for Concord Records, an album produced by American Idol's longest-serving judge, Randy Jackson. Abrams sings with a smile, never letting a grey cloud darken his blue sky --an attitude that's easier to adopt if you avoid sad songs, which he does throughout this sunny, mellow affair. It's all love songs and paeans to the wonders of a simple life, whether it's embracing a "Great Bright Morning" or eating mangos in a mango tree. Modern-day hippie that he is, Abrams peppers his cheerful ditties with throwaway references to DVRs and Wi-Fi while he eases himself into the radio-ready waters of "Get Out" and adopts a bit of co-writer Jason Mraz's sing-songy folkie jazz, but this record still feels like a wannabe throwback to the '70s, right down to the elastic blues groove of "Blame It on Me," the funkiest thing here. Over the course of an LP, what was distinctive about Abrams on AmIdol -- all the good cheer, the jazzy runs and scats, the way he leans just a little too hard into his phrases whenever he wants to seem soulful -- turn grating, but only mildly so: it's all a bit too sweet and dippy but it's hard to get mad at the amiable Abrams. It'd be like getting angry at a puppy that only wants to get pets.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/26/2012
Label: Concord Records
UPC: 0888072336728
catalogNumber: 33672
Rank: 159281


  1. Simple Life
  2. Ghosts
  3. Get Out
  4. Great Bright Morning
  5. Blame It On Me
  6. Wore Out My Soul
  7. Stuck In London
  8. Midnight Girl
  9. A Boy Can Dream
  10. Dry Spell
  11. Hit the Road Jack

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Casey Abrams   Primary Artist,Acoustic Guitar,Bass,Electric Bass,Cello,Drums,Recorder,Vocals,Melodica,Double Bass,Shaker,Wurlitzer,Soloist
Larry Goldings   Wurlitzer,Hammond B3
Dean Parks   Guitar
Andy Stochansky   Acoustic Guitar,Percussion,Drums
Steve Jordan   Drums
Martin Terefe   Acoustic Guitar,Banjo,Bass,Background Vocals
Sacha Skarbek   fender rhodes
Jamie Cullum   Piano
Jamie Hartman   Bass,Percussion
Ian Barter   Flute,Guitar,Keyboards
Karl Brazil   Percussion,Drums,Background Vocals
Kristoffer Sonne   Drums
Nikolaj Torp   Organ,Piano,Background Vocals,fender rhodes,Synthesizer Bass
Ian Wilson   Violin
Luke Potashnik   Acoustic Guitar
Sam Keyte   Hand Clapping
Haley Reinhart   Vocals
Shaneeka Simon   Background Vocals
Lucille Findlay   Background Vocals
Alex Eichenburher   Cello

Technical Credits

Percy Mayfield   Composer
Niko Bolas   Engineer
John Burk   Executive Producer,Vocal Producer
Andy Stochansky   Composer,Producer,Engineer
Tommy Lee James   Composer
Randy Jackson   Executive Producer
Pamela Sheyne   Composer
Zac Maloy   Composer
Aron Friedman   Composer
Steve Jordan   Producer
Mike Busbee   Composer
Martin Terefe   Composer,Producer
Sacha Skarbek   Composer
Seth Presant   Engineer
Dyre Gormsen   Engineer
Jamie Hartman   Composer,Producer,Engineer
Ian Barter   Composer,Producer,Engineer
Casey Abrams   Composer
Toby Gad   Composer,Producer,Engineer
Jason Reeves   Composer
Adam Cole   Engineer
Larissa Collins   Art Direction
Rune Westberg   Composer,Producer,Engineer,Instrumentation
Iain Pirie   Executive Producer
Jon Rezin   Vocal Editing
Sam Keyte   Engineer
Lorenzo Cosi   Engineer

Customer Reviews