Catalyst

Catalyst

by Kristin Smith

NOOK Book(eBook)

FREE
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details

Overview

A fast-paced thrilling adventure, full of danger, romance, and deception—perfect for fans of Veronica Roth's Divergent series or Marie Lu's Legend.

Too pretty.
Too smart.
Too perfect.

In a crumbling, futuristic Las Vegas where the wealthy choose the characteristics of their children like ordering off a drive-thru menu, seventeen-year-old Sienna Preston doesn't fit in. As a normal girl surrounded by genetically modified teenagers, all of her imperfections are on display. But after the death of her father, everything she's ever known and loved changes in an instant.

With little skills to help provide for her family, Sienna clings to the two things that come easily—lying and stealing. But not all thief-for-hire assignments go as planned. When a covert exchange of a stolen computer chip is intercepted, she becomes entangled with a corrupt government official who uses her thieving past as leverage, her mother as collateral, and the genetically modified poster boy she's falling for as bait.

In order to rescue her mother, there may only be one option—joining forces with the Fringe, an extremist group, and their young leader who's too hot to be bad. Problem is, these revolutionaries aren't what they seem, and the secrets they're hiding could be more dangerous than Sienna is prepared for. In the end, she must be willing to risk everything to save the one thing that matters most.

Praises for Catalyst:

"A gripping thriller with a tough, but vulnerable heroine who must fight against a corrupt underworld while searching for her father's killer. High stakes and non-stop action paired with terrific writing will have you turning the pages late into the night." 
~Kimberley Griffiths Little, award-winning author of the Forbidden trilogy (Harpercollins)

"Catalyst is a stunning and unique addition to the dystopian genre. Fans of The Maze Runner and Divergent series will devour this series opener."
~Sherry D. Ficklin, Bestselling Author of Queen of Someday

"An amazing young adult thriller! Full of intrigue, high stakes, and danger, this read will keep your heart racing and your mind turning deep into the night."
~Jessie Humphries, Bestselling Author of The Ruby Rose Series

"An action-packed sci-fi thriller filled with romance, danger, and twists you won't see coming, CATALYST provides a glimpse into an eery future depicting what can go wrong when those in power attempt to make things right."
~Ilima Todd, author of Remake

Editorial Reviews

Best-selling Author of The Ruby Rose Series Jessie Humphries

"This book has everything I love in a young adult book: a strong, Harley-riding, brilliant female character, a captivating plot set in a vividly imagined futuristic city that I know and love (Las Vegas), and a scintillating romance that leaves me wanting more. It's a good thing that more has been promised in this series!"

author of Between Two Fires Mark Noce

"Compelling. Intriguing. Fantastic! Catalyst gives us a view into a different world, but with relatable characters that everyone can understand. The novel’s exhilarating pace only gets better as the story reaches its heart-pounding climax. A must read for anyone who loves a good book that you just can’t put down.A YA read reminiscent of the best that the genre has to offer. Hunger Games and Divergent, eat your heart out."

author of Remake Ilima Todd

"An action-packed sci-fi thriller filled with romance, danger, and twists you won't see coming, CATALYST provides a glimpse into an eery future depicting what can go wrong when those in power attempt to make things right."

award-winning author of the Forbidden trilogy (Har ~Kimberley Griffiths Little

"A gripping thriller with a tough, but vulnerable heroine who must fight against a corrupt underworld while searching for her father’s killer. High stakes and non-stop action paired with terrific writing will have you turning the pages late into the night."

Kirkus Reviews

2016-09-19
Investigating her recently deceased fathers secret identity leads 17-year-old white, redheaded Sienna into the criminal underworld, a network of rebels, and uncharted romantic territory.In a world where most children are created using genetic engineering from the company Chromo 120, Siennas natural genome is unusual. So shes shocked to discover her fathers carefully guarded secret: he once was a Chromo 120 geneticist. Investigating his past requires that Sienna join the criminal underworld. Unfortunately, the particulars of Siennas transformation from an average teen into a skilled spy able to break into buildings, evade laser-detection systems, and pick locks is completely unexplained. Instead, readers are left to assume that it just magically happened during a convenient yearlong gap in the story. Eventually Siennas behaviors draw the attention of a corrupt colonel who uses Siennas mother to blackmail Sienna into murdering Chromo 120s leader. Circumstances, morality, and her attraction to the leaders white, blond son, Zane, cause her to abandon this assignment and instead seek other assistance to save her mother. Soon shes aligned herself with a group of rebelsled by white, blue-eyed Treywho believe Chromo 120 is performing illegal human experimentation. Unraveling the complicated truth of her father, Chromo 120, and her feelings for Zane and Trey will obviously require a second installment. Conceptually interesting but too heavily reliant on convenience to succeed. (Thriller. 13-17)

Product Details

BN ID: 2940153084497
Publisher: Clean Teen Publishing, Inc.
Publication date: 11/21/2016
Series: The Deception Game
Sold by: Smashwords
Format: NOOK Book
Sales rank: 72,444
File size: 1 MB
Age Range: 12 Years

Customer Reviews