Cathedral Oceans

Cathedral Oceans

by John Foxx

Vinyl LP(Long Playing Record - Special Edition)

$90.24 $94.99 Save 5% Current price is $90.24, Original price is $94.99. You Save 5%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Tuesday, December 17


John Foxx used to be the frontman for the glam rock band Ultravox (even before Midge Ure). Listeners familiar with that band will be surprised to learn that Foxx has created an opus based on Claude Debussy's "Sunken Cathedral." They will be even more surprised to hear the symphonic synthesizers on Cathedral Oceans. This beautiful CD is quite a surprise -- and a pleasant one at that. Foxx has built some very serene and peaceful soundscapes that are perfect for relaxation and meditation. The arrangements are flawless. Foxx uses Gregorian chant samples to augment the pastoral ambience. The effect is inspiring and uplifting. It is impossible to ignore the rays of hope and the warm caresses of this CD. Deep listeners will achieve rejuvenation and catharsis. This CD will appeal to fans of Suzanne Ciani, Constance Demby, Liquid Mind, and John Flomer. It is essential e-music.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/09/2016
Label: Demon/Edsel
UPC: 5014797894716
catalogNumber: 5062630
Rank: 120198


Disc 1

  1. Cathedral Oceans
  2. City as Memory
  3. Through Summer Rooms
  4. Geometry and Coincidence
  5. If Only...
  6. Shifting Perspective
  7. Floating Islands

Disc 2

  1. Infinite in All Directions
  2. Avenham Collonade
  3. Sunset Rising
  4. Invisible Architecture
  5. Revolving Birdsong
  6. Shimmer Symmetry
  7. Far And Wide 2

Disc 3

  1. Ad Infinitum
  2. Quiet Splendour
  3. Luminous and Gone
  4. Stillness and Wonder
  5. Return to a Place of Remembered Beauty

Disc 4

  1. Visible and Invisible
  2. Golden Green
  3. Oceanic
  4. Through Gardens Overgrown
  5. Spiral Overture
  6. The Shadow of a Woman's Hand

Disc 5

  1. Radial Harmonics
  2. Serene Velocity
  3. Fog Structures
  4. Eternity Sunrise
  5. Harmonia Mundi
  6. City of Endless Stairways
  7. In Rising Light
  8. Metanym

Album Credits

Performance Credits

John Foxx   Primary Artist

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews