Central Park North

Central Park North

by Thad Jones/Mel Lewis OrchestraThad Jones/Mel Lewis Orchestra


Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


One doesn't automatically think of big bands when remembering late-'60s jazz, though big bands like the Thad Jones-Mel Lewis Orchestra continued to make stimulating recordings. Central Park North, recorded and released in 1969, testifies that one could be a big band and progressive at the same time. Flügelhornist Jones and percussionist Lewis are joined by a large cast of players, including tenor Joe Farrell, trombonist Jimmy Knepper, and pianist Roland Hanna. The music runs the gauntlet from funky soul-jazz to more gentle traditional work, sometimes within the same piece. Jones' "Tow Away Zone" begins like a rather typical late-'60s composition (horns and organ with a soulful groove), but as the individual players cut loose with excellent solo work -- built within a multi-layered arrangement -- the piece takes on a character of its own. "Quietude" moves in the opposite direction, living up to its title by keeping things low-key, while "Jazz Samba" is a nine-minute romp with some great piccolo work. The swinging "Big Dipper" and ambitious title cut bring Central Park North to a satisfying close. The album, at 37 minutes, will seem a bit short by post-millennium standards, but the Thad Jones-Mel Lewis Orchestra makes every minute count. The 2004 reissue will be a welcomed by fans of adventurous big band music.

Product Details

Release Date: 04/20/2004
Label: Blue Note Records
UPC: 0724357685221
catalogNumber: 76852
Rank: 40045

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Thad Jones/Mel Lewis Orchestra   Primary Artist
Eddie Bert   Trombone
Richard Davis   Bass,Electric Bass,Bass Guitar
Thad Jones   Flugelhorn
Jimmy Knepper   Trombone
Mel Lewis   Drums
Jerome Richardson   Clarinet,Piccolo,Alto Saxophone,Soprano Saxophone
Joe Temperley   Bass Clarinet,Baritone Saxophone
Eddie Daniels   Clarinet,Tenor Saxophone
Joe Farrell   Clarinet,Soprano Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
Barry Galbraith   Guitar
Roland Hanna   Piano
Cliff Heather   Bass Trombone
Sam Herman   Guitar
Daniel Moore   Trumpet
Jimmy Nottingham   Trumpet
Benny Powell   Trombone
Snooky Young   Trumpet
Sam Leigh Brown   Guitar
Richard Gene Williams   Trumpet

Technical Credits

Nat Adderley   Composer
Thad Jones   Arranger,Composer
Jerome Richardson   Composer
Malcolm Addey   Remixing
Edwin Beach   Liner Notes
Michael Cuscuna   Reissue Producer
Don Hahn   Engineer
Sonny Lester   Producer
Patrick Roques   Reissue Design
Frank Gauna   Art Direction

Customer Reviews