Chance of a Lifetime (Harmony Series #5)

Chance of a Lifetime (Harmony Series #5)

by Jodi Thomas

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback)

$7.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, December 12

Overview

The Harmony novels are “Jodi Thomas all the way—super characters [and] lots of riveting subplots.”* Now the New York Times bestselling author takes us back to Harmony, Texas, where big dreams are brewing—and anything and everything is possible…

Emily, the local librarian, has started a writing group, but as the group stumbles through both the fiction and reality of their lives, they’re learning much more than how to write. But Emily suddenly has other things on her mind when a friend from her past shows up in Harmony's library. Now she must deal with a secret she’s kept for fifteen years—a secret that changed her life and threatens to shatter her future.

Meanwhile, new lawyer Rick Matheson thinks he’s in charge of his world until accidents start happening all around him. Just when he realizes someone is trying to kill him, he meets a beautiful U.S. Marshal named Trace Adam. Now that the marshal has given him an even stronger reason to go on living, he must learn to take a chance on life to dream bigger—and love better—than he ever has before...  

*Romance Reviews Today

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780425250525
Publisher: Penguin Publishing Group
Publication date: 12/31/2012
Series: Jodi Thomas's Harmony Series , #5
Pages: 336
Sales rank: 455,196
Product dimensions: 4.10(w) x 6.70(h) x 1.20(d)
Age Range: 18 Years

About the Author

New York Times bestselling author Jodi Thomas is a fifth-generation Texan who sets many of her stories in her home state, where her grandmother was born in a covered wagon. She is a certified marriage and family counselor, a Texas Tech graduate and writer-in-residence at West Texas A&M University. She lives with her husband in Amarillo, Texas.

What People are Saying About This

From the Publisher


Praise for Chance of a Lifetime:
"Tender, realistic, and insightful, Thomas's latest title deals with issues that will strike an emotional chord with many readers and will appeal to fans of Debbie Macomber and Sherryl Woods." --Library Journal
"First let me let you in on a secret -- I've never met a Jodi Thomas book that wasn't absolutely dog eared from being read so many times. They are all like warm cozy friends that just beg to be taken back down from the book shelves and revisited....CHANCE OF A LIFETIME is destined to become one of my favorites and I'll wager that it will be yours as well. Thomas managed to interweave a host of stories and characters in this wonderful contemporary tale infused with humor and mystery." --Fresh Fiction
Praise for Jodi Thomas's previous novels:
“Exactly the kind of heart-wrenching, emotional story one has come to expect from Jodi Thomas.”—Debbie Macomber, #1 New York Times bestselling author
“Jodi Thomas is a masterful storyteller. She grabs your attention on the first page, captures your heart, and then makes you sad when it is time to bid her wonderful characters farewell. You can count on Jodi Thomas to give you a satisfying and memorable read.”—Catherine Anderson, New York Times bestselling author
"Thomas sketches a slow, sweet surrender."—Publishers Weekly

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Chance of a Lifetime 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 13 reviews.
RtBBlog More than 1 year ago
Reviewed by:Jen Book provided by: Publisher Review originally posted at Romancing the Book Having read this whole series, I’ll admit that I was a little let down by this one. Don’t get me wrong, I still enjoyed the book but that little spark was missing… and her name is Reagan. Reagan is a mainstay in this series and yet she’s just a passing name in this installment. So this book actually has two love stories interwoven through it’s pages. The first is the story of Emily and Tannon. These two were the best of friends in high school. But a series of events pulled them apart… and now they’ve met again 15 years later and there is this spark between them. Then there is Rick. He’s a local lawyer and someone is trying to kill him. Trace appears and has decided she’s going to be Rick’s protector… but who is going to protect her heart? I actually liked all four characters. I definitely could relate to Emily the most since she’s on the shy side and afraid to put herself out there and fall in love. But Tannon had the patience of a saint to win Emily’s heart. Their romance was sweet and a nice contrast to Rick and Trace. Rick is a member of one of the leading families in Harmony and his life is now being threatened. Rick’s story really ties this book into the series since members of his family have been featured in prior books. While his romance with Trace works, for me it was mostly filler and the source of tension and suspense for the novel. I kept finding myself wanting to get back to Emily and Tannon. And let’s talk about the mystery surrounding Rick’s… well, stalker. I actually liked the mystery up until the reveal. I think a little more could’ve been done and perhaps a better reason given for the bad guy’s actions. Chance of a Lifetime is a solid book and can stand alone, although with most series books, you do get a little more out of it if you’ve read prior books. I am looking forward to revisiting Harmony again
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A lot of characters to meet ar one shot but a great story, exciting. I wrote all the names down to remember who's who. I feel like I know the whole town. KEEP THEM COMING?
SnowGirlNH More than 1 year ago
If its from Jodi Thomas, its amazing! This newest visit to Harmony did not disappoint...I love the characters, the setting and story...These books just get better and better...I am looking forward to more visits to Harmony...
MyBookAddictionandMore More than 1 year ago
CHANCE OF A LIFETIME by Jodi Thomas is an interesting women's fiction/contemporary romance set in Harmony, Texas. It is book #5 in the "Harmony" series, but can be read as a stand alone,although, it has re-appearing characters. See," Welcome to Harmony","Somewhere Along The Way", "The Comforts of Home", and "Just Down The Road". Another hit by this author. Follow, Emily,the local librarian,Rick Matheson,a lawyer,and Trace Adams, a U.S. Marshal on a journey in Harmony, Texas. Filled with drama,emotion,hidden secrets,and love. Ms. Thomas writes compelling,emotional and heart felt stories of life in a small Texas town. With strong characters, interesting plots,and intriguing subplots you will not go wrong by picking up "Chance of a Lifetime". Harmony, Texas may be a small town but its characters are bigger than life and will have you turning pages. Another must read from the author. Received for an honest review from the author/publisher. Details can be found at the author's website,Berkley and My Book Addiction and More. RATING: 4.5 HEAT RATING: MILD REVIEWED BY: AprilR, My Book Addiction and More/My Book Addiction Reviews
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love all of the Harmony books. I wil be reading more of Jodi's books.?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
booknerdDS More than 1 year ago
I’m usually a fan of small town romances. I think that it always sets the atmosphere of warm and welcoming place and is a great place for relationships to grow and develop. I thought that Ms Thomas captured many of the nuances of small town living. I especially liked Emily and Tannon Parker. I liked the way that their past was a part of their present but it wasn’t spoken of until it was time. I loved how their conversations were lazed with another meaning. It kept me intrigued. The whole time I kept thinking, what happened between them? Although Tannon could be considered intimidating I found him to be very vulnerable and sad. At first the characters seemed very flat. Emily was just a stereotypical librarian enjoying her quiet life. But the more time that Tannon spent with Emily the more interesting they became. It was both sad and interesting to see how they were both unable to move past their history, yet at the same time it was what kept them united after so much distance between them. I liked Rick Matheson and Trace Adams story as well but thought that the death threats didn’t belong in the story. I liked the role reversal of Trace a U.S. Marshall was called in to protect Rick. I also liked how he helped her come to terms with her own feelings, emotions and vulnerabilities. Typically the roles are reversed. The man gives physical protection and the woman gives emotional healing. I loved that in this book it was the other way around. I also enjoyed some of the funny moments that they shared. This couple seemed to be full of contradictions but they were still enjoyable and very unique. Although I enjoyed this story I thought there were a lot of extra details that I could have done without. Small parts I did not think were relevant to the book. Beau Yates and his mystery girl seemed awkward. I wasn’t overly impressed with Trouble. I kept thinking, why am I reading about these people? There were times when I found my attention drifting. I also tend to like one couple more than the other and find myself trying to skip to the couple I like best. I’m an impatient reader. Overall, this was a good book. Although I would not re-read it, I did enjoy seeing the growth between Tannon and Emily and Trace and Rick. This is definitely small town romance. I have never read Jodi Thomas but I do plan to read more of her work.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
R dgxry dfdg xc c rerfgrrrgfr vdery trcvdggvxtryxvt rrtr dgrt rt rfxvdgrcb