Chano y Dizzy!

Chano y Dizzy!

by Poncho SanchezPoncho Sanchez


$15.69 $18.99 Save 17% Current price is $15.69, Original price is $18.99. You Save 17%.


Latin jazz percussionist Poncho Sanchez teams up with trumpeter Terence Blanchard to pay tribute to the innovative Afro-Cuban jazz recordings of Dizzy Gillespie and Chano Pozo on 2011's Chano y Dizzy! Introduced to each other in 1947, legendary bebop trumpeter Gillespie and equally famous Cuban congo player Pozo created what was to be called Afro-Cuban jazz and helped spur the development of Latin jazz. Consequently, their names are synonymous with such compositions as "Tin Tin Deo," "Con Alma," and "Manteca" -- all of which are covered here. Long an avowed acolyte of Gillespie and Pozo, Sanchez is the perfect musician to delve into this music, as is Blanchard, who clearly has an affinity for Latin-infused jazz. While Sanchez and Blanchard tackle such Afro-Cuban-associated gems as Gillespie's "Groovin' High" and even Pozo's punchy and bright 1930s composition "Ariñañara," they also explore some more contemporary pieces well suited to the vibe. Among these are the steamy Ivan Lins ballad "Nocturna" (which Blanchard also covered on his 2003 release Bounce) as well as Ernesto Lecuona's languid ballroom number "Siboney." In keeping with the Latin bop aesthetic, there are also some fine small big-band originals from Sanchez's band, including trombonist Francisco Torres' driving "Promenade" and trumpeter Ron Blake's funky boogaloo "Harris' Walk." An inspired and heartfelt tribute, Chano y Dizzy! is a must-hear for Latin jazz fans as well as longtime Sanchez and Blanchard listeners.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/27/2011
Label: Concord Records
UPC: 0888072330955
catalogNumber: 33095


  1. Chano Pozo Medley: Tin Tin Deo/Manteca/Guachi Guaro
  2. Con Alma
  3. Wandering Wonder
  4. Siboney
  5. Dizzy's Dashiki
  6. Groovin' High
  7. Nocturna
  8. Harris' Walk
  9. Promenade
  10. Jack's Dilemma
  11. Ariñañara

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Poncho Sanchez   Primary Artist,Percussion,Conga,Vocals
Tony Banda   Bass,Vocals
Terence Blanchard   Trumpet
David Torres   Piano
Francisco Torres   Trombone,Vocals
Rob Hardt   Alto Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
George Ortiz   Timbales
Joey De Leon   Percussion,Bongos,Drums
Ron Francis Blake   Trumpet

Technical Credits

Ernesto Lecuona   Composer
Ivan Lins   Composer
Dizzy Gillespie   Composer
Chano Pozo   Composer
Terence Blanchard   Composer
Ron Blake   Composer
John Burk   Executive Producer
Walter Fuller   Composer
Vitor Martins   Composer
Don Murray   Engineer
Poncho Sanchez   Producer
David Torres   Composer
Francisco Torres   Composer,Producer
Ivory Daniel   Executive Producer
Jack Randall   Booking
Alexandra Borrero   Cover Illustration

Customer Reviews