Cheeky for a Reason

Cheeky for a Reason

by The View


$10.12 $11.99 Save 16% Current price is $10.12, Original price is $11.99. You Save 16%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Friday, October 19?   Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Shipping at checkout.


Cheeky for a Reason

Scottish indie rock outfit the View's 2012 album Cheeky for a Reason is a slightly more mature outing that still builds upon the rambunctious pop
ock of the band's previous work. With lead singer Kyle Falconer's Highland brogue spearheading the band's mischievous, playful plug-and-play sound, the View have always had a youthful exuberance that was hard to ignore even when the songs weren't quite the most original or memorable things you've ever heard. On Cheeky for a Reason, it's as if the band, which was a Mercury Prize nominee in 2009, finally tapped into the creative wellspring that often guides the best guitar-based rock bands on a search for the perfect pop song. Sidestepping some of their earlier, more experimental leanings and honing the bar band anthems of 2011's Bread & Circuses, the View deliver a catchy, hook-oriented batch of melodic rock that sticks with you, drawing you back for repeated listens. Tracks like the leadoff "How Long" and the sparkling "AB (We Need Treatment)" zip along with a power pop gallop and feature melodies that grab your ears with a glitter rock insistence. Elsewhere, cuts like the romantic "Bunker (Solid Ground)" and the brooding, spaghetti Western guitar-led "The Clock" have a '70s Fleetwood Mac vibe. Ultimately, by the time you get to the rousing and romantically giddy alt-rock anthem "Lean on My World," it's clear that the View have more than a few reasons to justify their cheekiness on what is their best album yet.

Product Details

Release Date: 02/19/2013
Label: 429 Records
UPC: 0795041792327
catalogNumber: 17923
Rank: 236830

Album Credits

Performance Credits

View   Primary Artist
Scotty Anderson   Percussion
Pete Reilly   Guitar
Mike Crossey   Organ,Percussion
Kyle Falconer   Acoustic Guitar,Bass,Piano,Electric Guitar,Vocals,Background Vocals,Mellotron,fender rhodes
Darren Rennie   Keyboards,Vocals,Background Vocals,fender rhodes
Kieren Webster   Bass,Electric Guitar,Vocals,Background Vocals
Steven Morrison   Percussion,Drums,Background Vocals

Technical Credits

Angelo Petraglia   Composer
Andy Willsher   Band Photo
Mike Luba   Management
Mike Crossey   Producer
Kyle Falconer   Composer
Brendan Moon   Management
Katie Gwyther   Composer
Kieren Webster   Composer
Ryan McPhail   Logo
Mike Spink   Engineer
Mike Bawden   Management

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews