Get it by Monday, October 23
, Order now and choose Expedited Delivery during checkout.
Same Day delivery in Manhattan. Details
Once known as Junction Grove, the rich history of Englewood began in the mid-1800s as the area quickly developed into a rail and commerce crossroads. Junction Grove changed its name to Englewood in 1868, and in 1889, it became part of the City of Chicago. With its cross streets at 63rd and Halsted, the four railroad stations, and the 63rd Street 'L' stop, Englewood has long been a transportation hub of the south west side. This easy access helped to make Englewood one of the largest outlying business districts in the country for much of the first half of the 20th century. But Englewood has changed over the years. Now a struggling urban area, it is nevertheless known for its grassroots organizations and strong sense of community, on the forefront of revival.Chicago's Englewood Neighborhood: At the Junction explores the history of the people, places, commerce, and community that have created this ever-changing neighborhood.
|Publisher:||Arcadia Publishing SC|
|Series:||Images of America Series|
|Product dimensions:||6.54(w) x 9.14(h) x 0.36(d)|
About the Author
Authors Maria Lettiere Roberts and Richard Stamz are active within the Englewood community. Ms. Lettiere Roberts is a public historian with the Chicago Historical Society. Mr. Stamz is the recipient of an award from the American Association of Retired Persons as well as a number of honors for his work in radio and broadcasting. He has been the chairman of the Englewood Back to School Parade and was named a legend by the R&B Record Manufacturers of America.