Chicago's Headmistress

Chicago's Headmistress

by Loretta Giacoletto

Paperback

$9.75 $12.99 Save 25% Current price is $9.75, Original price is $12.99. You Save 25%.
View All Available Formats & Editions

Overview

Chicago's Headmistress was shortlisted for the 2014 "Soon to be Famous Illinois Author Project" and was also nominated for Best Historical Fiction at eFestival of Words. This novel about Prohibition and prostitution during the Roaring Twenties is a prequel and partial parallel to the Italian/American generational saga, The Family Angel, but can also be enjoyed as a stand-alone. Every story has more than one side and within a generational saga many stories link and overlap. Loretta Giacoletto tells this one from the perspective of two of The Family Angel's most intriguing characters. In the words of Ugo Sapone:

"Never did I think I'd find myself involved in forward-thinking education. Never did I think I'd find myself involved in an illegal activity that has given so many people such joy. Yet, here I am, right hand man to Giulietta Bracca."

Follow Giulietta Bracca's notorious rise to wealth and power, from street urchin in 1905 Genoa, Italy, to the headmistress of Night School, Prohibition Chicago's most popular and innovative men's club in the 1920s. Along the way Giulietta plays a deadly game of one-upmanship with men who use her, abuse her, and fall head-over-heels in love with her. This quick-study seductress soon learns to give as good as she gets and with only a few regrets--those so devastating they will haunt her into eternity. But there's one man Giulietta will never forget: the immigrant bootlegger she gave up too soon and will stop at nothing to lure him back, even if it means jeopardizing all she holds dear. A must-read for fans of The Family Angel, Family Deceptions, The Prohibition Era, and The Great Depression.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781482667455
Publisher: CreateSpace Publishing
Publication date: 07/30/2013
Pages: 218
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 9.00(h) x 0.50(d)

About the Author

Loretta Giacoletto divides her time between the St. Louis Metropolitan area and Missouri's Lake of the Ozarks where she concentrates on writing fiction, essays, and her blog Loretta on Life while her husband cruises the waters for bass and crappie. Their five children have left the once chaotic nest but occasionally return for her to-die-for ravioli and roasted peppers topped with garlic-laden bagna càuda. An avid traveler, she has visited numerous countries in Europe and Asia but Italy remains her favorite, especially the area from where her family originates: the Piedmont region near the Italian alps.

Loretta's novels are filled with bawdy characters caught up in problems they must suffer the consequences for having created. ITALY TO DIE FOR, from her Savino Sisters Mystery Series, shows how too much togetherness can spell disaster for two thirty-something sisters vacationing in Italy. In LETHAL PLAY a grieving widow is suspected of killing her son's coach, a man with more enemies than friends. FAMILY DECEPTIONS follows two generations of earthy characters who learn to thrive and/or survive through a series of misdeeds, the worst against those they love the most. FREE DANNER features a cynical young man whose troubled past and deadly encounters hinder his search for the father he has yet to meet. THE FAMILY ANGEL is an Italian/American saga about the Americanization of an immigrant family of bootleggers, coalminers, winemakers and priests, and a mysterious black angel who enjoys sticking his nose in the family business. The previously mentioned CHICAGO'S HEADMISTRESS, a prequel and partial parallel to THE FAMILY ANGEL, follows a 1905 Italian street urchin's notorious rise to wealth and power as the headmistress of Night School, Prohibition Chicago's most popular and innovative men's club in the 1920s. Loretta is also the author of A COLLECTION OF GIVERS AND TAKERS, an anthology of twisted stories about the good, the bad, the self-centered and the disillusioned

In addition to the horror anthologies, Damned in Dixie and Hell in the Heartland, Loretta's short stories have appeared in a number of publications including The MacGuffin, Futures Mystery Anthology Magazine, The Scruffy Dog Review, Allegory and Literary Mama, which nominated her story "Tom" for Dzanc's 2010 Best of The Web.

An associate editor for Allegory ezine, Loretta is also a member of Backspace Writers.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Chicago's Headmistress 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 7 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
avidreaderctb More than 1 year ago
I didn't care for this one
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
MontanaQuilter More than 1 year ago
I think this story gives a picture of the "gritty" times many immigrants suffered coming to the "promise land" of America. It was entertaining reading, even though I didn't care for the ending. I have to give Giulietta credit for her bravery and smarts under terrible conditions. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago