ISBN-10:
3319397079
ISBN-13:
9783319397078
Pub. Date:
04/21/2017
Publisher:
Springer International Publishing
Childhood Acute Lymphoblastic Leukemia

Childhood Acute Lymphoblastic Leukemia

by Ajay Vora
Current price is , Original price is $149.99. You

Temporarily Out of Stock Online

Please check back later for updated availability.

Overview

This book provides a comprehensive and up-to-date review of all aspects of childhood Acute Lymphoblastic Leukemia, from basic biology to supportive care. It offers new insights into the genetic pre-disposition to the condition and discusses how response to early therapy and its basic biology areutilizedto develop new prognostic stratification systems and target therapy.

Readers will learn about current treatment and outcomes, such as immunotherapy and targeted therapy approaches. Supportive care and management of the condition in resource poor countries are also discussed in detail.

This is an indispensable guide for research and laboratory scientists, pediatric hematologists as well as specialist nurses involved in the care of childhoodleukemia.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9783319397078
Publisher: Springer International Publishing
Publication date: 04/21/2017
Edition description: 1st ed. 2017
Pages: 342
Product dimensions: 6.10(w) x 9.25(h) x (d)

About the Author

Professor Ajay Vora is honorary professor of paediatric haematology at University of Sheffield and consultant paediatric haematologist at Sheffield Children’s Hospital. His daily practice involves the care of children with a variety of malignant and non-malignant blood disorders. He has a special interest in childhood leukaemia and cord blood transplantation. He is chair of the UK NCRI childhood leukaemia sub-group and I-BFM ALL committee. He is chief investigator of childhood and infant ALL clinical trials and is involved with several research projects in this area. He is programme director of the Trent Regional Paediatric Haemopoeitic Stem Cell transplant service.

Table of Contents


Chapter 1
Title: Epidemiology including genetic predisposition
Authors: Professor Richard Houlston (richard.houlston@icr.ac.uk), Institute of Cancer Research, Royal Marsden, London and Professor Martin Stanulla (stanulla.martin@mh-hannover.de), Hannover University.
Chapter 2
Title: Clinical Features
Author: Dr Nicholas Goulden (Nicholas.goulden@gosh.nhs.uk), Great Ormond Street Hospital, London
Chapter 3
Title: Diagnostic flow cytometry and immunophenotypic classification
Author: Dr Dario Campana (paedc@nus.edu.sg), National University of Singapore.
Chapter 4
Title: Cytogenetics
Authors: Professor Anthony Moorman (anthony.moorman@newcastle.ac.uk) and Professor Christine Harrison (christine.harrison@newcastle.ac.uk) both at Leukaemia Cytogenetics Reference Laboratory, Newcastle University.
Chapter 5
Title: Molecular genetics
Authors: Dr Charles Mullighan, St Jude’s Hospital, Memphis, USA
Chapter 6
Title: Pharmacology including pharmacokinetics, pharmacodynamics and pharmacogenetics
Author: Professor Mary Relling (mary.relling@stjude.org) St Jude’s Hospital, Memphis, USA
Chapter 7
Title: Minimal Residual Disease
Author: Jacques Van Dongen (vandongen@immu.fgg.eur.nl), Rotterdam University, NL
Chapter 8
Title: Treatment – first line
Author: Ajay Vora (ajay.vora@sch.nhs.uk) , Sheffield Children's NHS Trust, UK
Chapter 9
Title: Treatment – relapse
Author: Vaskar Saha (v.saha@manchester.ac.uk) , Manchester University, UK
Chapter 10
Title: Treatment – new drugs
Author: Michel Zwaan (c.m.zwaan@erasmusmc.nl), Rotterdam, NL
Chapter 11
Title: Treatment – immune based approaches
Authors: Antibodies – Arend Von Stackelberg (Arend.Stackelberg@charite.de) , Charite Hospital, Berlin
Cellular therapy – Persis Amrolia (persis.amrolia@gosh.nhs.uk), Great Ormond Street Hospital, London, UK
Chapter 12
Title: Supportive care
Author: Deepa Bhojwani (deepa.bhojwani@chla.org), UCLA, CA, USA
Chapter 13
Title: Developing world perspective
Author: Allen Yeoh

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews