Children of Scarabaeus

Children of Scarabaeus

by Sara Creasy
4.3 38

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback)

$7.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Usually ships within 1 week

Overview

Children of Scarabaeus by Sara Creasy

“Sara Creasy is a new writer to watch….Creasy’s imaginatively constructed universe draws the reader in.”
—Vonda N. McIntyre

Sara Creasy burst onto the sf scene with Song of Scarabaeus—prompting Publishers Weekly to praise her as, “a significant new talent,” and her novel as, “a brilliantly conceived debut,” in a starred rave review. With Children of Scarabaeus she returns us to her boldly imagined universe for another ingenious blending of rich characterization, breathtaking science fiction adventure, fascinating speculation, and engrossing romance in the vein of Linnea Sinclair and Ann Aguirre. Children of Scarabaeus cements Creasy’s reputation as one of sf’s most exciting new practitioners—as cypherteck Edie Sha’nim and her bodyguard lover Finn uncover an insidious scheme by the tyrannical Crib empire that involves the enslavement of children and the destruction of worlds.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780061934742
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 03/29/2011
Pages: 336
Product dimensions: 4.10(w) x 6.70(h) x 0.80(d)

About the Author

Sara Creasy grew up in a tumbling-down Victorian house in England, where she tapped out her first stories on a tiny blue typewriter. After moving to southeastern Australia as a teenager, her love of all things fantastical hooked her on science fiction. Meanwhile, in real life, a biology degree led to work as an editor in the educational publishing industry. She was associate editor of Australia's science fiction and fantasy magazine Aurealis for several years, and her involvement with the SF community inspired her to write her first novel. Marriage to an American resulted in a second intercontinental move, and she lived in Arizona for five years. She now lives in Melbourne, Australia.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Children of Scarabaeus 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 38 reviews.
Clairity More than 1 year ago
I read a lot and have been disappointed in a lot of the of the books out there but Sara Creasy has started a new world that has me utterly captivated. I started with her first book the Song of Scarabaeus and found myself drawn into a creative and beautiful world. It is absolutely nessicery to read the first book before reading the Children of Scarabaeus. This second installment was just as captivating as her first book and continues with a fluidity that starts the anticipation building right at the begining and continues through out the whole book. If I didn't have a two year old I would have lost myself in this book as it was I finished it in short order. I love Edie and Finn their relationship is so enjoyable to fallow and their loyalty and selflessness is commendable and I love to hate the Crib. Basically the reason I chose to write this review is to help a new author get the fame she deserves and to ecourage readers out there to take a chance. You wont regret this read.
harstan More than 1 year ago
Although Cyphertek Edie Sha'nim and her bodyguard-lover Finn escaped from Scarabaeus, the tyrannical Crib government still wants her. Her hope to escape their brutal control of the universe is the fringe frontier worlds, but failed to appreciate how much her skill to change ecologies mean to the Crib. They are caught and if she wants her lover to survive she will obey and cooperate. However, she is ill with what is demanded of her. If she performs the ecological reengineering she will kill a planet. Making matters worse the Crib is employing cypherteck children as slaves. There is the threat to the orb that started her as a dissenter, Scarabaeus. The sequel to Song of Scarabaeus is a direct entry so it behooves fans to have read the previous tale first. Edie and Finn begin new escapades, but it is even more a coming of age thriller than its predecessor; as the lead couple struggle with political machinations as bioengineering and ecological reengineering has winners and losers as Edie has learned. Readers will relish Children of Scarabaeus as Sara Creasy continues a strong saga with a moral underlying premise in which each successful transformation brings affluence but at the cost to someone else. Harriet Klausner
Anonymous 12 months ago
I enjoyed getting more with Edie and Finn and finding our conclusion to the previous book, Song of Scarabaeus. It kept the action alive and gave resolution to Edie and Finn’s dilemmas. It was cool to see more cyphertecks and how they differ. It made Edie seem less like this unicorn of a person with skills no one else has. The children were also a realistic evolution of the Crib based on the success they had with Edie. I wish we could have gotten more in Finn’s head. Both books have been told from Edie’s POV and since Finn is so stoic and hardly ever says anything, it makes it challenging to see his growth and his developing feelings for Edie. Getting more about Finn was nice as well as seeing more of the Saeth which I find pretty fascinating. I had a hard time fully grasping the “techy” stuff Edie and the children did. It was sometimes hard to visualize how Edie performed her cypherteck duties. I’m not sure if this is me missing something or if the ideas and descriptions were just really out there.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Absolutely loved this book and have read it a few times now. I loved Edie and Finn's relationship. I wish there would have been an opportunity to read an epilogue featuring those two so I knew what became of them.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have read and reread this book so many times. It never gets old and it never fails to suck me into the story. This is truely one of the best book Ive read.
Misti_Wolanski More than 1 year ago
While the book did a good job of wrapping up the hanging plot threads, the characters were ever-static (like they were in _Song of Scarabaeus_), and I found a major plot twist downright *obvious* from its setup in book one. Overall, I felt as though the world had room for a lot more than the author had done with it. I'm glad I read this book, to resolve the storyline, but… The *only* focus seemed to be Edie's goal of freeing Finn and the border worlds, and to that end, Edie comes across as rather a Mary Sue. Finn seems to exist solely for her benefit—all the rocky parts of their relationship come from her imagination or from exterior forces. It's…annoying. Oh, and the kids seemed more like an idealization of children rather than actual children. Only way I could see them making sense is if the Crib does personality screenings and only picks low-key intellectual introverted types as trainees—which is possible, given the universe as it's built, but then the personality screening also should've filtered out some of the behaviors that one child demonstrated. So while the book was a fun read for a space opera, and I'd like to see more stories in this universe, I doubt I'll re-read it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A very good sequel to Song of Scarabaeus. Good Science-fiction Romances are hard to find but this one didn't disappoint. I look forward to reading more from Sara Creasy.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Not often you can say that.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a must read if you have read Song of Scarabaeus. Sara Creasy does a great job of wrapping up the story and leaving readers satisfied.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read the first one and couldn't wait to get my hands on this one. It pulled me in and it's incredibly vivid. I believe it's a must read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago