Chilled, Vol. 2: 1991-2009

Chilled, Vol. 2: 1991-2009

Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


Chilled, Vol. 2: 1991-2009

The second volume in Ministry of Sound's Chilled series is a continuation of the first, which proved popular enough to warrant a follow-up. Like the first volume, Ministry of Sound: Chilled, Vol. 2 (1991-2009) is a triple-CD mix of relatively downtempo electronic dance music from the previous couple decades, including classics as well as more obscure songs. The track listing is truly impressive, featuring tracks by Pacific State, Leftfield, Primal Scream, Sneaker Pimps, Groove Armada, St. Germain, Moloko, Kruder & Dorfmeister, the Prodigy, Coldplay, Air, Faithless, Zero 7, Roots Manuva, Daft Punk, Mylo, Fatboy Slim, Thievery Corporation, Nouvelle Vague, Nightmares on Wax, UNKLE, Deep Dish, Everything But the Girl, Underworld, Jam & Spoon, Kings of Tomorrow, Röyksopp, and Moby. Most of these better-known electronica artists date back to the '90s, though there are more recent inclusions on the remix-heavy third disc such as Kid Cudi vs Crookers' "Day 'N' Nite (D.O.N.S Remix)," Sébastien Tellier's "Kilometer (A Trak Remix)," and Lindstrom & Prins Tomas' "En Dag I Mai." In contrast to the third disc, the first two generally feature the original or best-known versions of the songs. Make no mistake, this album is chill, but it's not necessarily ambient. Lots of these tracks are rhythmic and beat-driven, and some are quite uptempo, the entire third disc in particular. As for the mixing, it's nothing special. It's so subtle, in fact, the album could be played with a random play setting and it wouldn't make much of a difference. All in all, Ministry of Sound: Chilled, Vol. 2 (1991-2009) is best-suited for casual listeners of electronic dance music (people who could care less that "Pacific State" was released in 1989, outside the date range stated in the subtitle). Electronica purists will already have much of this music in their collection, and neither the track selection nor the mixing will impress them. Yet for those who would like an all-in-one package filled with some of the most popular chill-out music of the previous couple decades, Ministry of Sound's Chilled series is ideal, both the first and second volume.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/09/2009
Label: Ministry Of Sound Uk
UPC: 5051275026429
catalogNumber: 7502642

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Tracey Thorn   Vocals
Marshall Jefferson   Vocals
Ivan McCready   Cello
Sandy Rivera   Keyboards
Duke Quartet   Strings
Mark Buchanan   Vocals
Erlend Øye   Vocals
John Metcalfe   Viola
Julie McKnight   Vocals
Therese   Vocals
Rick Koster   Violin
Louisa Fuller   Violin

Technical Credits

Tangerine Dream   Composer
New Order   Composer
George Duke   Composer
Herbie Hancock   Composer
Bert Kaempfert   Composer
Bennie Maupin   Composer
Moby   Composer,Producer,Remixing
Neil Innes   Composer
Bob Stone   Composer
Bill Conti   Composer
808 State   Composer,Producer
Angelo Badalamenti   Composer
Mark Brydon   Composer
Paul Daley   Composer
Jam el Mar   Composer,Producer
Darren Emerson   Composer
Chris Goss   Composer,Producer
Karl Hyde   Composer
Leftfield   Producer
Pete Lorimer   Producer
Harvey Mason   Composer
Ken Nelson   Producer
Thomas Newman   Composer
Hugoth Nicolson   Producer
David Pomeranz   Composer
Steve Robson   Composer,Producer
Karl Wallinger   Composer,Producer
Ben Watt   Composer
Gillespie   Composer
Mark Spoon   Producer
StoneBridge   Arranger,Composer,Producer
Sister Bliss   Composer,Producer
Deep Dish   Producer
Moloko   Producer
Charles Webster   Producer,Remixing
Richard Dorfmeister   Composer,Producer
Line of Flight   Producer
Mark Rae   Composer
Jon Marsh   Composer
Steve Waddington   Composer
UNKLE   Producer
James Lavelle   Composer,Producer
Fatboy Slim   Producer
David Lynch   Composer
Jim Abbiss   Producer
Scruff   Producer
Ballistic Brothers   Composer,Producer
Thomas Bangalter   Composer
Cut La Roc   Composer,Producer
Peter Kruder   Producer
Guy-Manuel de Homem-Christo   Composer
Nicolas Godin   Composer,Producer
Fred Karger   Composer
Chris Liebing   Composer,Producer
Ludovic Navarre   Composer,Producer
Etienne de Crécy   Composer,Producer
Groove Armada   Producer
Andrew Wooden   Composer,Producer
Simon Thornton   Engineer
Carlos Sosa   Composer
Bonobo   Remixing
Salt City Orchestra   Remixing
Sandy Rivera   Producer
Beth Hirsch   Composer
Alan Braxe   Producer
A. Gilbert   Producer
Grantley Marshall   Composer
Tom Middleton   Composer,Producer
Herbert Rehbein   Composer
Damon Baxter   Producer
Mark Blackburn   Composer
Nick Bracegirdle   Composer
Torbjørn Brundtland   Composer
Andy Cato   Composer
Róisín Murphy   Composer
David F. Revill   Engineer
Steve Christian   Composer
Mothership   Remixing
Space Raiders   Composer,Producer
Kinobe   Producer
A. Payne   Producer
Coldplay   Producer
Tom Findlay   Composer
Uschi Classen   Composer
Richard File   Composer,Producer
Max Sedgley   Composer,Producer
Chris Martin   Composer
Will Champion   Composer
Guy Berryman   Composer
Jonny Buckland   Composer
Sébastien Tellier   Composer
Röyksopp   Producer
Svein Berge   Composer
Flunk   Producer
Fred Falke   Producer
Jonathan Sharp   Composer
Nouvelle Vague   Producer
Eric Prydz   Composer,Producer
Myles Macinnes   Composer,Producer
George Nakas   Composer
Djuma Soundsystem   Composer,Producer
Kid Cudi   Producer
Dana Bergquist   Producer,Remixing
R. Garza   Producer
A. Carthy   Composer
Scott Mescudi   Composer
Line of Flight   Producer
H. Binns   Composer
O. Omishore   Composer
Dot Da Genius   Producer
Alain Quéme   Composer
Gurvitz   Composer
Julius Waters   Composer
Neil Barnes   Composer
J. Henry   Composer
Damon Baxter   Producer
A. Gilbert   Composer,Producer
Stuart Cullen   Composer,Producer
David Catching   Composer
P. Brennan   Composer
R. Garza   Composer,Producer
K. Brennan   Composer
Lovell   Composer
Rodgers   Composer,Producer
Dawkins   Composer
Corner   Composer
Kruder   Composer,Producer
Rick Smith   Producer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews