Christmas in Plains: Memories

Christmas in Plains: Memories

by Jimmy Carter, Amy Carter
4.6 5

NOOK Book(eBook)

$7.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
Want a NOOK ? Explore Now

Overview

Christmas in Plains: Memories by Jimmy Carter, Amy Carter

Jimmy Carter remembers Christmas in Plains, Georgia, the source of spiritual strength, respite, friendship, and vacation fun in this charming portrait.

In a beautifully rendered portrait, Jimmy Carter remembers the Christmas days of his Plains boyhood—the simplicity of family and community gift-giving, his father’s eggnog, the children’s house decorations, the school Nativity pageant, the fireworks, Luke’s story of the birth of Christ, and the poignancy of his black neighbors’ poverty.

Later, away at Annapolis, he always went home to Plains, and during his Navy years, when he and Rosalynn were raising their young family, they spent their Christmases together recreating for their children the holiday festivities of their youth.

Since the Carters returned home to Plains for good, they have always been there on Christmas Day, with only one exception in forty-eight years: In 1980, with Americans held hostage in Iran, Jimmy, Rosalynn, and Amy went by themselves to Camp David, where they felt lonely. Amy suggested that they invite the White House staff and their families to join them and to celebrate.

Nowadays the Carters’ large family is still together at Christmastime, offering each other the gifts and the lifelong rituals that mark this day for them.

With the novelist’s eye that enchanted readers of his memoir An Hour Before Daylight, Jimmy Carter has written another American classic, in the tradition of Truman Capote’s A Christmas Memory and Dylan Thomas’s A Child’s Christmas in Wales.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780743225649
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Publication date: 10/19/2001
Sold by: SIMON & SCHUSTER
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 160
Sales rank: 700,087
File size: 6 MB

About the Author

Jimmy Carter was the thirty-ninth President of the United States, serving from 1977 to 1981. In 1982, he and his wife founded The Carter Center, a nonprofit organization dedicated to improving the lives of people around the world. Carter was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize in 2002. He is the author of two-dozen books, including A Full Life; An Hour Before Daylight; Palestine: Peace Not Apartheid and Our Endangered Values. He lives in Plains, Georgia.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Christmas in Plains: Memories 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 6 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Jimmy Carter does a good job telling about all his Christmas...Very interesting as he describes his relationship with his neighbors...Also good insight into moving back home to Plains...
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very interesting book. Well worth my time.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Not great literature and very home made illustrations and tha what makes it a very human family next door read quite different from most other presidents i especially liked the priblem of multi in laws when the grandkids come and how they managed to pay for the vacations........not many presidents would admit becoming cruise entertainers to pay for their fares. My favorite president and first lady. Though i dont remember the prayers for his condition of -------really thought that was funny and was like the emperors clothes how humbling
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
This little book is a 'sweet read.' There are moments of repeat events from previous books by Mr. Carter, but I appreciated and enjoyed the emotional frankness of his Christmas reflections. This book is not a gate stopper for world policy, but it has some nice memories from a nice man.