Christmas Songs With Ray Brown

Christmas Songs With Ray Brown

by Ray Brown Trio


Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


Christmas Songs With Ray Brown

Ray Brown finally got around to producing a Christmas CD and it was worth the wait. The great bassist has seven guest vocalists plus features for tenor saxophonist Ralph Moore and guitarist Russell Malone; his gifted trio includes pianist Geoff Keezer and drummer Gregory Hutchinson. Dee Dee Bridgewater at first sings "Away in a Manger" in a traditional vein with only Keezer's fluid piano accompanying her, but Brown's arrangement evolves into a swinging gospel setting. "Santa Claus Is Coming to Town" showcases Diana Krall in a saucy, recurring call and response with Brown in a bluesy take. Kevin Mahogany is the vocal equivalent of an open fire on a cold night during "Christmas Song," which also has a nice solo by Russell Malone. Hutchinson does a humorous vocal rap on "The Christmas Rap," a funky original by Brown. Vanessa Rubin, Etta Jones, Marlena Shaw, and Nancy King also each add a distinct individual touch to a holiday favorite. The highlights among the instrumentals begin with a rather unique marchlike cadence that evolves into a Baroque fugue to introduce the centuries-old "God Rest Ye, Merry Gentlemen," featuring Keezer's tremendous chops. Ralph Moore's hard-blowing tenor sax is the centerpiece of "Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer." Liner note writer Jon W. Poses' assertion that "We Wish You a Merry Christmas" is "the trio's best improvisational vehicle" is difficult to debate. Even though the songs have been recorded countless times over the decades, Ray Brown's crisp and innovative arrangements and his brilliant choice of supporting musicians and singers make this Christmas CD one for the ages.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/28/1999
Label: Telarc
UPC: 0089408343728
catalogNumber: 83437

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Ray Brown Trio   Primary Artist,Track Performer
Etta Jones   Vocals,Track Performer
Geoff Keezer   Piano
Ralph Moore   Tenor Saxophone
Vanessa Rubin   Vocals,Track Performer
Marlena Shaw   Vocals,Track Performer
Nancy King   Vocals,Track Performer
Russell Malone   Guitar
Dee Dee Bridgewater   Vocals,Track Performer
Ray Brown   Bass
Gregory Hutchinson   Drums,Vocals,Track Performer
Kevin Mahogany   Vocals,Track Performer
Diana Krall   Vocals,Track Performer

Technical Credits

Harry Simeone   Composer
Michael Bishop   Engineer
Ray Brown   Arranger,Producer
Katherine Davis   Composer
Elaine Martone   Producer
Henry Onorati   Composer
Robert Woods   Executive Producer
Anilda Carrasquillo   Art Direction
Jon W. Poses   Liner Notes
Richard Storrs Willis   Composer
Edmund Hamilton Sears   Composer
Jim Burt   Cover Design
James R. Murray   Composer
James Pierpont   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews