Chronicle of the Mound Builders

Chronicle of the Mound Builders

by Elle Marie

Paperback

$14.99

Overview

#1 Amazon Best Selling Author

A race against time to unlock the secret of the greatest archaeological mystery of the 21st century... before it destroys them all.

Archaeologist Angela Hunter unearths an ancient codex from a Native American burial mound. But how could an illiterate society have produced such complex writing?

Seven hundred years ago, a thriving civilization suddenly vanished. As Angela deciphers the mysterious codex symbols, she unravels one of archaeology's greatest mysteries.

Despite forces trying to stop her from learning the chronicle's secrets, Angela discovers the horrifying truth. Can she prevent the tragedies of the past from happening again today?

If you enjoy action packed mysteries and thrillers about ancient civilizations, you'll like this adventure that takes you on a journey in two timelines: the era of the Aztecs & Cahokia Mound Builders and the present with archaeologist Angela Hunter. Fans of Kathy Reichs and Elizabeth Peters will enjoy the strong female characters in Aztec Curse.

Previously published as Chronicle of the Mound Builders.

Interview with the Author


Q: Where did you come up with the idea for your novel?

A: Living near the mysterious Cahokia Mounds, I always wondered what happened to the Mound Builders who lived there long ago. When I read an article about a newly discovered village right in my hometown, I couldn't wait to explore it. That sparked my idea to write a novel about how the civilization vanished, and center the story around the Aztex codex, a fictitious relic.

Q: Have you always been a fan of archaeology? What intrigues you most?

A: I love both fiction and nonfiction books about archaeology. It's fascinating how archaeologists solve mysteries through the clues they find and interpret from digs. The Native American cultures in particular interest me. I love learning what their lives were really like.

Q: Without giving too much away, can you describe the book's element of mystery?

A: The basic mystery is what happened to the Cahokia Mound Builders. Their civilization vanished overnight and no one knows why or how. Aztec Curse follows the people living in that time period as they move toward their destiny, while Angela tries to solve the mystery in modern times by uncovering clues from an ancient codex.

Q: What do you hope readers take away from your novel?

A: I hope readers enjoy the action and adventure while learning about the ancient Aztecs and their culture, such as Aztec sacrifice and the Mexican pyramids, as well as the culture of Cahokia, City of the Sun.

Q: How did you learn about archaeology?

A: Dr. Meredith Hawkins of Archaeological Research Center of St. Louis graciously showed me around the Dampier Dig site and provided basic instruction on archaeology.

Q: If you could be one of your characters, who would you choose?

A: Definitely Angela Hunter. She's a strong person: smart, funny, and courageous, but not perfect.

Q: What are your favorite genres to read?

A: Archaeology mysteries and thrillers, of course! I also read historical fiction, chick lit, psychological thrillers, and science fiction. Very eclectic!

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781479206650
Publisher: CreateSpace Publishing
Publication date: 10/29/2012
Pages: 396
Product dimensions: 5.25(w) x 8.00(h) x 0.88(d)

About the Author

Elle Marie's books are diverse but all have one thing in common-they reflect her passions. From maintaining a healthy lifestyle (Living the Thin Life) to unearthing mysteries (Aztec Curse) to visiting her daughter in Paris (contributor to the anthology That's Paris), she writes what she knows and loves. Her most recent book, Sales and Fails, is a humorous account of all the struggles she encountered marketing her first three books, peppered with a few success stories as well.

She's never far from her computer; by day she works in the IT field, by night she writes her latest inspiration. When she does step away from the screen, she enjoys spending time with her husband in their hometown of St. Louis.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Chronicle of the Mound Builders 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
VictoriaLesage More than 1 year ago
[Full disclosure: I'm the book's editor] I edited this book but it doesn't change the fact that I think it's a great read! I enjoyed the adventure as archaeologist Angela Hunter discovers what happened to the civilization known as the Mississippian Indians. I liked how the story alternates between two timelines - the ancient civilization and the modern society discovering it. It was surprising how advanced the ancient "Mound Builder" civilization was and was fun learning details about them. The modern day storyline where you learn about archeological techniques was just as impressive. The book is informational, but the story is really a fun piece of fiction at its heart that anyone who enjoys action, adventure, mysteries, and a little romance will enjoy!
wordsandpeace2 More than 1 year ago
Awesome histfic on unusual topic: I am again grateful to Amy for inviting me to host a post on this tour, as this was a wonderful opportunity to read another historical fiction, and yet a very original one. It is indeed rare to read a historical novel on Native Americans. I was fascinated from the start by Chronicle of the Mound Builders. On a background of local jealousy and intrigues between authorities, archeologists and scholars, and precious information secretly held by contemporary Native Americans, young archeologist Angela finds an ancient codex. What’s strange and really exciting is that the Mississippian site she is digging at is supposed to be part of a civilization that did not develop any written tradition. So is this a hoax, or a text coming from somewhere else? As she starts translating it, she discovers it is written in ancient Aztec pictographs. The book goes back and forth between Angela’s discovery and adventures, as she progressively unveils a dangerous secret, and chronicles of Aztec and Mississippi daily life, as related in the codex. It was a fascinating way of learning about both civilizations in the 14th century, thousands of miles away from each other, and their religions (definitely not a very positive presentation of priests), their ways of hunting, cooking, their sports, their technique to make books, or even to make copper took-filling! As I wrote to the author (who graciously answered right away!), I’m torn between the fascination I have for her creativity and the disappointment that this is historical fiction, not history, and thus to know that actually this codex does not exist, though its content is strictly based on what we know from these people. She made it up, integrating real Aztec pictographs, and she drew them in this book, as Angela explains how they work, both by sound and by meaning assimilation. As I love languages but knew nothing about the Aztec language, that was awesome for me! I enjoyed extremely the mix of historical facts, historical fiction, mystery, adventure, supernatural, and even a bit of romance. If need be, this is another excellent proof that self-published books can be top quality. And before I can read the sequel, because the last sentence of the book tells me more is coming, yeah!!, my next step for now will be to visit the site of the Mound Builders myself, in Cahokia near St. Louis. I am so excited I will have the opportunity to do so next month. Hopefully nothing will happen on that day on Great Sun Mound and I hope the Ark will be peaceful as well. To know what I am talking about, you will just have to read the book!