City of the Living Dead and Other Science Fiction Stories

City of the Living Dead and Other Science Fiction Stories

by Fletcher Pratt

NOOK Book(eBook)


Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details


CITY OF THE LIVING DEAD AND OTHER SCIENCE FICTION STORIES includes five entertaining classic science fiction works by noted American scifi pioneer Fletcher Pratt. The title work of this collection, CITY OF THE LIVING DEAD, is an early look at the perils of a society in which technology has gained an immense power over the everyday lives of the people; virtual reality has blurred the lines between true reality and the virtual world, imperiling the future of humanity.

� City of the Living Dead
� Danger
� The Octopus Cycle
� The Onslaught From Rigel
� The War of the Giants

Related collections and offers

Product Details

BN ID: 2940149690114
Publisher: Halcyon Press Ltd.
Publication date: 06/16/2014
Series: Halcyon Classics , #1
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
File size: 234 KB

About the Author

Murray Fletcher Pratt (1897-1956) was an American writer and historian who wrote during the golden age of science fiction during the 1930s-1950s. He published a number of well-received and groundbreaking works of science fiction, including several collaborations with L. Sprague de Camp. He was also a writer of naval and Civil War history.

Aside from his writings, Pratt is perhaps best known for establishing the literary group known as the Trap Door Spiders in 1944. Fictionalized as "The Black Widowers" in the writings of Isaac Asimov, this group was a debating and dinner society comprised of notable science fiction and fantasy writers and intellectuals active from the 1940s to the late 1990s. It included among its members Isaac Asimov, Lester del Rey, L. Sprague de Camp, Lin Carter, and Willy Ley, and others.

Customer Reviews