City on a Hill: The Gathering

City on a Hill: The Gathering


Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


City on a Hill: The Gathering

Of all the City on a Hill releases (Songs of Worship & Praise, Sing Alleluia, and It's Christmas Time), The Gathering is certainly the most topical. The theme is Christ's exhortation to love one another, and the ensuing 14 tracks offer the expected artist collaborations (FFH & Paul Colman Trio, Sixpence None the Richer, and Bebo Norman), plus some stellar solo performances, all wrapped in the series' signature folk-pop melodies. This organic, mellow musical vibe is one of the series' strengths, and there are some truly excellent performances here, as well: Leigh Nash on "Beautiful Scandalous Night" and Sara Groves on "Come Be Who You Are" are two standouts. What The Gathering doesn't do nearly as well is address its topic, especially the part Christians so often overlook: Love your neighbor, even when you don't want to, even when it's hard -- when he's on death row, or believes in Allah, or is gay. That's what Jesus taught, after all, and in this day and age the message is more timely than ever. Unfortunately, The Gathering missed a good opportunity.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/23/2003
Label: Essential
UPC: 0083061070120
catalogNumber: 10701

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Michael Palmer   Vocal Ensemble
Phil Madeira   Vocal Ensemble
Steve Hindalong   Percussion,Chimes,Glockenspiel,Vocal Ensemble
Dennis Holt   Drums
Tom Howard   Conductor
Jeff Miller   Bass Guitar
Rob Mitchell   Drums
Chris Donohue   Bass Guitar
Laura Donohue   Vocal Ensemble
Dan Haseltine   Vocals,Vocal Ensemble,Group Member
Elinor Madeira   Vocal Ensemble
Paul Colman   Acoustic Guitar,Vocals,Vocal Ensemble,Group Member
Caedmon's Call   Group Member
Charlie Lowell   Keyboards,Background Vocals,Vocal Ensemble
Derri Daugherty   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar,Vocals
Stephen Mason   Background Vocals,Vocal Ensemble
Todd Bragg   Drums
Matt Odmark   Acoustic Guitar
Matt Slocum   Pedal Steel Guitar,Cello,Electric Guitar
Cliff Young   Vocals
Nate Sabin   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar,Keyboards,Synthesizer Bass,Drum Loop
Leigh Nash   Vocals,Group Member
Garett Buell   Percussion
Danielle Young   Vocals,Background Vocals,Vocal Ensemble
Ginny Owens   Vocals,Vocal Ensemble
Bebo Norman   Vocals,Vocal Ensemble
Kate Miner   Vocal Ensemble
Christine Glass   Vocals,Vocal Ensemble
Justin Cary   Bass Guitar
Jennifer Deibler   Background Vocals
Jeromy Deibler   Vocals
Andrew Peterson   Acoustic Guitar,Vocals
Sara Groves   Vocals,Vocal Ensemble
Marc Byrd   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar,Vocals,Guitar (12 String Acoustic),Vocal Ensemble
Warren Bazemore   Background Vocals
Marcus Myers   Hammered Dulcimer
Shane Williams   Vocals
Ben Shive   Piano,Keyboards
Phil Gaudion   Drums
Grant Norsworthy   Bass Guitar
Diane Stasio   Vocal Ensemble

Technical Credits

Phil Madeira   Composer
Jimmy Abegg   Composer
Steve Hindalong   Arranger,Composer,Producer
Dennis Holt   Engineer
Tom Howard   Arranger
David Schober   Engineer
Bob Wohler   Executive Producer
Robert Lowry   Composer
Paul Colman   Composer
Matt Bronleewe   Composer
Derri Daugherty   Arranger,Composer,Producer,Engineer,Percussion Programming
Robert Beeson   Executive Producer
Robert Robertson   Composer
Nate Sabin   Producer,Engineer
Jordan Richter   Engineer
Fred Paragano   Engineer
Ginny Owens   Composer
Kim Thomas   Cover Art
Jeromy Deibler   Composer
Andrew Peterson   Composer
Sara Groves   Composer
Marc Byrd   Arranger,Composer,Producer
Ben Shive   Composer,String Arrangements
Bob Wohier   Executive Producer
Aaron Senseman   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews