Clark County, South Dakota (Postcard History Series)

Clark County, South Dakota (Postcard History Series)

by Greg Furness


$19.79 $21.99 Save 10% Current price is $19.79, Original price is $21.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Tuesday, October 23?   Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Shipping at checkout.
    Same Day shipping in Manhattan. 
    See Details


Clark County, South Dakota (Postcard History Series) by Greg Furness

Clark County was created in 1873 by an act of territorial legislature. It was named for Newton Clark, a territorial legislator. On June 27, 1878, the first white settlers arrived in Clark County. Settlers continued migrating to Clark County, and by 1880, there were enough settlers to petition for organization. On May 23, 1881, Clark County became an official county. The first courthouse was built in 1888 in Clark. Besides Clark, the following towns were soon formed: Bradley, Carpenter, Crocker, Elrod, Garden City, Melham, Naples, Raymond, Vienna, and Willow Lake. Clark County, located in northeast South Dakota in the Glacial Lakes and Prairie Region, is home to some 4,500 residents.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780738540269
Publisher: Arcadia Publishing SC
Publication date: 05/01/2006
Series: Postcard History Series
Pages: 127
Product dimensions: 6.40(w) x 9.10(h) x 0.40(d)

About the Author

The over 200 views in this book were selected from a large private collection of postcards of Clark County businessman Greg Furness. Furness is involved in many

civic organizations, including the Clark County Historical Society, Prairie Lakes Hospital Foundation, Rotary Club, Clark Area Community Foundation, Clark Alumni Association, chamber of commerce, and Clark Development Corporation.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews