Paperback

$5.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Friday, September 28?   Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Shipping at checkout.

Overview

Class Act #2 by Kelly Starling Lyons, Vanessa Brantley-Newton

Fans of Princess Posey and Ivy and Bean will enjoy rooting for Jada Jones as she runs for student council in this easy-to-read chapter book.

As a candidate for class representative, Jada is ready to give the campaign her all. But when rumors start to fly about her secret fear of public speaking, she isn't sure who she can trust. And the pressure to make promises she can't keep only adds to her growing list of problems. Is winning even worth it when friendships are on the line?

This easy-to-read story—with plenty of pictures and a charming, relatable cast of characters—is a sure winner. The early chapter book bridges between leveled readers and chapter books for fluent readers adjusting to the chapter book format. At about 5,000 words, with short chapters and two-color art on almost every page, it will appeal to this unique reader. The two-color art throughout will help readers transition from the familiar four-color art of leveled readers and ease them into black-and-white chapter books.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780451534279
Publisher: Penguin Young Readers Group
Publication date: 09/19/2017
Series: Jada Jones Series , #2
Pages: 96
Sales rank: 172,575
Product dimensions: 5.10(w) x 7.60(h) x 0.40(d)
Age Range: 6 - 8 Years

About the Author

Kelly Starling Lyons is the author of Hope's Gift and Tea Cakes for Tosh. She lives in North Carolina with her husband and daughter and son.

Vanessa Brantley Newton is a self-taught artist with a great passion for children's books and fashion illustration. As an illustrator, she includes children of all ethnic backgrounds in her artwork so that every child sees their unique experience reflected in the stories they read. She celebrates self-love and acceptance of all cultures through her work, and hopes to inspire young readers to find their own voices. Vanessa has illustrated over 30 books, and has written and illustrated the picture books Let Freedom Sing and Don't Let Auntie Mabel Bless The Table. She lives in Charlotte, North Carolina with her husband and daughter, and a crazy cat named Stripes.

Read an Excerpt

Chapter One: Friendly Competition  
(Continues…)



Excerpted from "Class Act #2"
by .
Copyright © 2017 Kelly Starling Lyons.
Excerpted by permission of Penguin Young Readers Group.
All rights reserved. No part of this excerpt may be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the publisher.
Excerpts are provided by Dial-A-Book Inc. solely for the personal use of visitors to this web site.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Class Act #2 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
CRGehringer More than 1 year ago
Lyons creates a likeable character in Jada Jones. She hits just the right note of spunk without being sassy to adults, and just the right note of vulnerability without being weak. Jada is an African-American 4th grader who appeals to young readers. She has her struggles but her stories promote good values such as believe in yourself, say no to drama, and try to fix your mistakes. Most of all, her stories show that to have a friend, one must be a friend. Lyons’ books are delightfully illustrated by Vanessa Brantley Newton in these easy-to-read chapter books. Readers in 1st-3rd grade will enjoy meeting Jada and her friends!