Claws (

Claws ("Homeward" Collection)

by Barb Hendee

NOOK Book(eBook)

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
Want a NOOK ? Explore Now


Claws ("Homeward" Collection) by Barb Hendee, J. C. Hendee

Each autumn, Jan awaits his aunt and uncle's arrival, so that he can leave with them and enjoy a season on the open road in freedom, earning his keep with his violin. Julianna isn't looking forward to his absence, and then Jan's mother asks her to accompany Jan in traveling with their family of the Móndyalítko, the "world's little children."

Julianna has never set foot outside her home village, but she is eager if a little wary to see more of the world among this strange traveling people. Jan finds a new joy in showing her that world as his buried feelings for her begin to resurface. But when the family reaches their first stop to perform, a bizarre series of attacks suddenly plagues the townspeople.

Jan's ever-traveling family is instantly suspected. In their separate ways, Jan and Julianna throw themselves into growing danger as they strive to find the true culprit. Julianna soon discovers the source of these horrors might too close to the suspicions of the townspeople... close enough that it may be too late to save herself or Jan. [Sequel to Captives; 19k words]

About "Tales from the world of the Noble Dead Saga"...

No knowledge of the Noble Dead Saga or related works is necessary to read and enjoy these stories. They are written for fantasy enthusiasts in general and not just our established readership. Readers new to this world can step into it through any of these short works.

Tales are organized into "collections" where all stories therein share a theme and/or premise. When one or more link together, subsequent stories will mention "sequel to..." on their covers to guide you. Even so, each is self-contained enough to be your first adventure into this world.

--Barb & J.C. Hendee

Product Details

BN ID: 2940016707815
Publisher: Barb and J.C. Hendee /
Publication date: 06/05/2013
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Sales rank: 713,064
File size: 182 KB

About the Author

Barb & J.C. live south of Portland, Oregon, and about a hour from the coast. Barb's fiction has appeared in numerous genre magazines and anthologies. JC's poetry, non-fiction, and short fiction have also appeared in many genre publications. Although they have worked together as a writing team from their earliest days, the series/phases and books of the Noble Dead saga are their first novel-length collaborations starting in 2003. Both are ex-academics with masters in English, have worked academia as well as the private sector, and have taught multiple workshops, classes, and seminars related to fiction writing inside and outside of academia.

Barb is also the author of the "Vampire Memories" series and the "Mist-Torn Witches" series (set in the world of the saga) available at all major book vendors.

Series/Phase 1: Dhampir, Thief of Lives, Sister of the Dead, Traitor to the Blood, Rebel Fay, Child of a Dead God
Series/Phase 2: In Shade and Shadow, Through Stone and Sea, Of Truth and Beasts
Series/Phase 3: Between Their Worlds, The Dog in the Dark, and more to come

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews