Clemenceau's Daughters

Clemenceau's Daughters

by Rocky Porch Moore

Paperback

$14.95

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781940869650
Publisher: Southern Yellow Pine (SYP) Publishing LLC
Publication date: 12/11/2015
Pages: 184
Sales rank: 877,662
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 8.50(h) x 0.42(d)

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Clemenceau's Daughters 3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 3 reviews.
ReadersFavorite More than 1 year ago
Reviewed by Robin Goodfellow for Readers' Favorite Clemenceau's Daughters by Rocky Porch Moore is an eerie, Southern Gothic novel that details the blood-soaked legacy behind cracks of innocence. The book is separated into three parts. The first part introduces Debbie, a young girl with a strange ability that has led to the death of both her babysitter and her beloved grandfather. The second part reveals the frightening history of why that ability attracts so much tragedy, and demonstrates just what happens when hatred goes unchecked. The third part finally describes the results of such a past, with Debbie losing yet another loved one. I loved the parallels Moore has drawn between the mothers in the book. Both Maisie and Carolyn did whatever they could to secure their daughter's happiness; Maisie in ensuring Clemenceau's fortune and reputation, Carolyn in keeping Debbie safe. But despite their efforts, that bittersweet ending still tied their stories together. From one secret to another, the determination of the mothers to try to secure their daughter's future was a consistent idea in the book, which made the prologue all the more terrifying. I also enjoyed the symbolism. The ominous mountain, the foreboding deaths, and even the tree at the beginning of the book; with each different symbol comes yet another warning about the dangers lurking nearby. Even the colors and details were haunting; the pink walls and wide-eyed dolls in Debbie's room, supposedly every girl's dream room, something she can relish in the follies of her youth. But even so, the horrors of that legacy still tore that room down and shoved her into the open, with a large target painted on her back. The Southern Gothic feel forced me into a dreamlike daze, as Moore lulled me into a false sense of security through the eyes of a child. Coupled with the shattered innocence that hid the sinister shadows beneath, Moore showed the age-old lesson of what happens when hatred goes unchecked. I would thus recommend this book to readers who loved The Magnolia League series and Beautiful Creatures.
GAgirl1 More than 1 year ago
One of the worst books that I have ever read. Do not waste your time.
SirCap More than 1 year ago
This was an odd book. For one there's a little too much telling rather than showing, and the beginning makes it seem like a book for young adults. The character is young, and there is some mild swearing by the parents. The young girl lives a cursed life, many people around her dying because of some curse from long ago. When the book splits to section 2, it is no longer about the little girl, but about a powerful lord, his wife, and his mistress, thereby destroying the young adult rating. It began to read more like Game of Thrones, and became pretty explicit. And then it switched back to the young girl in part 3. That's when everything started to escalate, and you started to see the three parts connect. The middle section read like a very long prologue. Then more murder-death happens in section 3, and you can see the tie in to part 3. However, there is no resolution. She sees the person who curses her, gets threatened, and then gets sent with her grandmother. The person who cursed her is still out there, her grandmother is supposed to teach her something, but there is no resolution.