Clues in the Shadows: A Molly Mystery (American Girl Mysteries Series)

Clues in the Shadows: A Molly Mystery (American Girl Mysteries Series)

by Kathleen Ernst

Paperback

$6.95
View All Available Formats & Editions

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781593694784
Publisher: American Girl Publishing, Inc
Publication date: 02/05/2009
Series: American Girl Mysteries Series
Pages: 192
Product dimensions: 5.20(w) x 6.85(h) x 0.51(d)
Lexile: 640L (what's this?)
Age Range: 9 - 12 Years

About the Author

Kathleen Ernst is an award-winning author, educator and social historian. She has published fifteen novels and one nonfiction book, including her bestselling American Girl mystery, Danger at the Zoo, which was an Agatha Award finalist in the category of best children’s/young adult mystery. She took an interpreter job at Old World Wisconsin and later worked as a Curator of Interpretation and Collections at the historical site.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Clues in the Shadows: A Molly Mystery (American Girl Mysteries Series) 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 11 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was an intersting book filled with ups and downs that got me feeling as if i were in the story. It was also very surprising and it got me going the whole story.
EGHunter01 More than 1 year ago
Something strange is going on, do you think Molly will be able to solve the mystery? This novel has enough suspense to keep readers intrigued and fascinated. You'll be "spellbound" and you will want to unravel the tale in "Clues in the Shadows" by Kathleen Ernst with Molly as the central character and "super sleuth." Enjoy!
keristars on LibraryThing 10 months ago
Molly's newest mystery takes places in May of 1945, a month after Dad has come home but before the end of the war itself. She's growing mighty tired of having to put on a brave face - not only as her patriotic duty, but because Mom wants the kids to make sure the house is peaceful and quiet for Dad - who, by the way, isn't the same as he used to be. So Molly is basically wishing the war were over and back to normal.Though this is "a Molly mystery," I wouldn't say that the mysteries are the focus of the novel. Rather, they serve to tie several plot threads together and link the overarching themes of the story. The first mystery comes up when Molly, Ricky, and other children in the neighborhood notice that the waste paper they've been collecting has been tampered with, but none appears to have gone missing. The second mystery is that of a night-time prowler - why would anyone be sneaking around Molly's garden at night? The third is that of Miss Delaney, a young woman who volunteers at the Red Cross and works with the Junior Red Cross, but has mysteriously resigned from the post. Finally, there is a fourth mystery revolving around a redheaded man who was saying strange things and then picking fights for no reason, and whom Molly saw being arrested. Of course, there's also a subtler mystery of "why isn't Dad the same as he used to be?" but it's never addressed directly as a mystery.The biggest theme of the story is that though a war has ended, the effects of that war will take a long time to heal. This is directly addressed by the celebration of VE-Day on the 8th of May. Molly is surprised when, despite the war being over in Europe, the rationing of things like electricity, gasoline, and sugar continues to occur. She also visits the Veterans Hospital with the Junior Red ross, where she discovers that though many of the soldiers have come home, they'll never be able to return to the lives they used to live. PTSD plays a large role in this aspect of the story, though it is called "the jitters" and "battle fatigue" by the characters - PTSD wasn't a term used at the time, but it is explained in the Looking Back section.The story also addressed the way the homefront had to adapt to the return of soldiers after the war. Different points of view were presented regarding the factory jobs women had taken and the sudden loss of those jobs - some of the characters welcomed the chance to return to a homemaker's lifestyle, while others resented the loss of their jobs. But even those who were glad to return home had to adjust to the change. Also needing adjustment was their relationships with the returning men. Just like Molly was having trouble getting used to Dad again, many people had to learn to get along with men who were forever affected by the war in one way or another. There were several suggestions in the book for how to interact with the servicemen who were now home that I thought were really good for modern kids, too. In fact, a lot of the advice Molly received, or the experiences she had, struck me as highly applicable to kids whose parents have served in combat zones and are now home (or will be coming home).One of the things I love about Kathleen Ernst's American Girl Mysteries is her attention to the details. Clues in the Shadows really isn't any different: the setting and people are rich with life and quirks and it's a really fantastic addition to the Molly canon. Fans of Linda and Susan will be glad to know that they have relatively large roles in the book, but aren't relegated to sounding boards or stick figures - Linda, especially, receives a lot of attention. Details from Molly's other books aren't forgotten, either - Ricky still does airplane spotting and has a collection of model airplanes, Molly still has trouble with math, Jill still tries to act like she's a grown-up, and so on. Among the new, smaller details are several that I loved, but which might have been left out by another writer - Dad knits with yellow yarn duri
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Worst book ever! Usually luv mysteries but this one was lame Signed Wumsky
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
B-O-R-I-N-G
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Who is it
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Could kiss it
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My granddaughter loved this book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEASE, can you tell me who the intruder was? I don't have enough money right now to get it, and it dosen't say it in the sample. So, PLEASE TELL ME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!