Coffee Stains

Coffee Stains

by Kevin J. O'Conner

NOOK Book(eBook)

View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details


Starting out as a chapbook, Coffee Stains is the sixth collection of poems by Kevin J. O'Conner.

The title fits the contemplative nature of much of O'Conner's work, particularly since coffee time is often a chance to slow down and contemplate, make notes in a journal, or perhaps sit and read for a bit.

The collection itself is divided into six sections, plus a prelude and postscript:

Everyday observations, from annoying plot twists to the changing of the seasons to the nature of humankind.

Autobiography Is Hard
Self-reflection and personal experiences.

Romantical Feelings and Such
Poems about love and romance, in truth and fantasy.

Reading and Writing
Looking for the perfect words.

Observations about things happening in the world.

Short Forms
Poems no longer than six or seven lines—a little bit of everything.

Many of the poems originally appeared on O'Conner's blog, Ordinary Average Thoughts; others appear for the first time.

Product Details

BN ID: 2940152556346
Publisher: Kevin J. O'Conner
Publication date: 01/05/2016
Sold by: Smashwords
Format: NOOK Book
File size: 734 KB

About the Author

Kevin J. O’Conner (56) is not your typical poet. After 30 years of writing only sporadically, Kevin J. O’Conner returned to poetry in 2013—first as a creative exercise, then for the therapeutic benefits. Since 2015, he writes every day, exploring the craft of poetry through monthly writing challenges—‘my ongoing effort to write something that doesn’t sound like something I would write’, he says. Kevin’s poems explore isolation, memory, life’s small moments, and the experience of starting over at ‘a certain age’—always with an emphasis on straightforward expression. As of Spring 2019, Kevin has published eleven collections of poems, the latest of which is WISHES SOMETIMES HAVE CONSEQUENCES, plus four volumes of ‘love notes’ to the days of the week. His poems have also appeared in Raven Chronicles, Spindrift, The CDC Poetry Project, Lament for the Dead, and the anthology VOICES THAT MATTER, and as part of the Clay? VI (2016) exhibit at Kirkland Arts Center. When not writing poetry, Kevin can be found copy-editing documents from far-flung places, attending open-mic readings, designing books, and contemplating what to cook now that he is tired of soup. He lives in Bellingham with his mom's neurotic cat, Cleo III. (updated 28 October 2019)

Customer Reviews