Cold and Bitter Tears: The Songs of Ted Hawkins

Cold and Bitter Tears: The Songs of Ted Hawkins


$23.23 $23.99 Save 3% Current price is $23.23, Original price is $23.99. You Save 3%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, April 22


Ted Hawkins was a brilliant performer and songwriter whose life and career were pock-marked with tragedy and disappointment. Petty crime kept Hawkins in and out of jail in his younger days, and while he later enjoyed popular and critical success in Europe, the United Kingdom, and Japan, in his native California Hawkins supported himself by playing for tips along the Venice Beach boardwalk, where his rough but deeply soulful singing style always drew a crowd. While Hawkins landed a major-label record deal and began winning a significant American audience with the 1994 album The Next Hundred Years, fate stepped in and Hawkins died of a stroke just nine months after its release. Though Hawkins' voice was silenced, for many fans his songs were every bit as striking as his vocals, honest tales direct from the heart of life's joys and disappointments, and Cold and Bitter Tears: The Songs of Ted Hawkins features 15 folk and roots music artists offering their interpretations of some of Hawkins' best tunes. Artists include Kasey Chambers & Bill Chambers ("Cold and Bitter Tears"), James McMurtry ("Big Things"), Mary Gauthier ("Sorry You're Sick"), Jon Dee Graham ("Strange Conversation"), Gurf Morlix ("I Gave Up All I Had"), Sunny Sweeney ("Happy Hour"), and many more.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/30/2015
Label: Imports
UPC: 8713762011239
catalogNumber: 5034782
Rank: 149474


  1. Big Things
  2. Cold and Bitter Tears
  3. One Hundred Miles
  4. Sorry You're Sick
  5. Strange Conversation
  6. Happy Hour
  7. I Got What I Wanted
  8. Baby
  9. I Gave Up All I Had
  10. Bad Dog
  11. Bring It on Home Daddy
  12. My Last Goodbye
  13. Who Got My Natural Comb
  14. Whole Lotta Women
  15. Peace and Happiness
  16. [Untitled]

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Eliza Gilkyson   Vocal Harmony
James McMurtry   Guitar,Vocals
Steve James   Vocals,Guitar (Resonator)
Kevin Russell   Acoustic Guitar,Mandolin,Drums,Electric Guitar,Vocals,Hand Clapping,Vocal Harmony
Danny Barnes   Banjo,Guitar,Vocals
Tony Gilkyson   Guitar,Electric Guitar
Jon Dee Graham   Acoustic Guitar,Vocals,Lap Steel Guitar
Elizabeth Hawkins   Vocal Harmony
Daren Hess   Percussion,Drums
Viktor Krauss   Bass
Gurf Morlix   Acoustic Guitar,Vocals
Rick Richards   Percussion,Drums
Randy Weeks   Guitar,Electric Guitar,Vocals
Lynn Williams   Drums
Red Young   Hammond B3
Jack Saunders   Bass
Keith Langford   Percussion,Drums
Jeff Johnston   Bass,Singing Saw,Vocal Harmony,Guitar (Baritone)
Bill Chambers   Dobro,Vocals
Kasey Chambers   Guitar,Vocals
Tim Easton   Guitar,Harmonica,Vocals
Amy Boone   Guitar,Vocals
Andrew Duplantis   Bass,Vocal Harmony
Claude Bernard   Accordion
Mary Gauthier   Acoustic Guitar,Vocals
Conrad Choucroun   Drums
Deborah Kelly   Bass,Vocals
Winfield Cheek   Organ,Piano,Hammond B3
Ramsay Midwood   Electric Guitar,Vocals
Rob Bernard   Acoustic Guitar,Vocals
Jeff Brown   Bass
Guthrie Trapp   Electric Guitar
Tiffany Walker   Hand Clapping
Dustin Welch   Banjo
Sunny Sweeney   Vocals
Evan Felker   Guitar,Harmonica,Vocals
Jenn Miori   Vocal Harmony
Mark Wilson   Baritone Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
Jenni Finlay   Hand Clapping
Brian T. Atkinson   Hand Clapping
Tiger Anaya   Trumpet
Harry Hookey   Guitar,Harmonica
Tina-Michelle Fowler   Vocals,Hand Clapping,Vocal Harmony
Austin Wheless   Hand Clapping
Belle Harvey   Bass

Technical Credits

Ray Kennedy   Engineer
Brook Benton   Composer
Kevin Russell   Producer
Steve Gillette   Composer
George Reiff   Engineer
Stuart Sullivan   Engineer
Margie Singleton   Composer
Paul Natkin   Inside Photo
David MacKechnie   Composer
Theodore Hawkins   Composer
Jenni Finlay   Producer,Art Direction,Videography
Brian T. Atkinson   Producer,Liner Notes,Cover Photo,Back Cover Photo

Customer Reviews