Cold Storage

Cold Storage

by David Koepp

Hardcover

$22.39 $27.99 Save 20% Current price is $22.39, Original price is $27.99. You Save 20%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, September 25

Overview

"On every level, Cold Storage is pure, unadulterated entertainment." —Douglas Preston, The New York Times Book Review

For readers of Andy Weir and Noah Hawley comes an astonishing debut by the screenwriter of Jurassic Park: a wild and terrifying adventure about three strangers who must work together to contain a highly contagious, deadly organism

When Pentagon bioterror operative Roberto Diaz was sent to investigate a suspected biochemical attack, he found something far worse: a highly mutative organism capable of extinction-level destruction. He contained it and buried it in cold storage deep beneath a little-used military repository.

Now, after decades of festering in a forgotten sub-basement, the specimen has found its way out and is on a lethal feeding frenzy.  Only Diaz knows how to stop it.

He races across the country to help two unwitting security guards—one an ex-con, the other a single mother.  Over one harrowing night, the unlikely trio must figure out how to quarantine this horror again.  All they have is luck, fearlessness, and a mordant sense of humor.  Will that be enough to save all of humanity?

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780062916433
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 09/03/2019
Pages: 320
Sales rank: 30,180
Product dimensions: 6.20(w) x 9.10(h) x 1.50(d)

About the Author

David Koepp is a celebrated American screenwriter and director best known for his work on Jurassic Park, Spider-Man, Panic Room, and War of the World. His work on screen has grossed over $6 billion worldwide.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Cold Storage: A Novel 4.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 4 reviews.
RMeckley 20 days ago
I love end-of-the-world stories, and this one is a dilly! First-time author Koepp has written a terrific, fast-moving thriller. In 1987 two Air Force investigators join a scientist in Australia to investigate a small town where everyone has disappeared. (Sounds like Crichton's ANDROMEDA STRAIN.) They discover that everyone climbed to the roofs of their houses and died in gruesome ways. They also discover the cause - a rare, deadly fungus that is difficult to control and easy to spread. Of course, they bring a sample back with them to the U.S., and store it in a "secure" government facility, which, of course, is not secure. The author's writing is fast and furious, skillful, and descriptive enough to put me right in the middle of the action. I loved it! Thanks to NetGalley for providing a preprint copy.
MKF 20 days ago
Killer fungus! Who knew a novel about killer fungus escaping from a containment facility many subbasements below a conventional storage facility could be both so gross and so funny? Roberto and Trini are Air Force Officers detailed to the USG agency responsible for dealing with WMD in the 1980s and 1990s and they are the ones who bring a sample of this awful thing back to the US where it's put in a facility and meant never to get out. Well, best laid plans. Fast forward to the present and Tea Cake and Naomi are security guards working the night shift at the facility and they keep hearing a beep so of course they have to investigate. They aren't the ones who unleash the fungus- how it gets out is again, afoul of best laid plans- but they, along with Roberto, who is called out of retirement, have to deal with it. This is a hoot. LOL funny in spots. Koepp knows how to build tension, create implausible but hmmm scenes (the deer in the elevator), and to keep things moving. You don't need a lot of back story on any of these characters but you're gonna root for them. Thanks to the publisher for the ArC. I enjoyed this so much more than I expected, largely because Koepp is a great storyteller and this is a wild ride!
MKF 20 days ago
Killer fungus! Who knew a novel about killer fungus escaping from a containment facility many subbasements below a conventional storage facility could be both so gross and so funny? Roberto and Trini are Air Force Officers detailed to the USG agency responsible for dealing with WMD in the 1980s and 1990s and they are the ones who bring a sample of this awful thing back to the US where it's put in a facility and meant never to get out. Well, best laid plans. Fast forward to the present and Tea Cake and Naomi are security guards working the night shift at the facility and they keep hearing a beep so of course they have to investigate. They aren't the ones who unleash the fungus- how it gets out is again, afoul of best laid plans- but they, along with Roberto, who is called out of retirement, have to deal with it. This is a hoot. LOL funny in spots. Koepp knows how to build tension, create implausible but hmmm scenes (the deer in the elevator), and to keep things moving. You don't need a lot of back story on any of these characters but you're gonna root for them. Thanks to the publisher for the ArC. I enjoyed this so much more than I expected, largely because Koepp is a great storyteller and this is a wild ride!
Anonymous 13 days ago
Not difficult or very complex, but I liked the characters and the story. Kat