by Massive Attack
3.6 3

Item is available through our marketplace sellers and in stores.



Although a catalog of four albums might not seem deep enough to warrant a retrospective collection, in the case of Massive Attack, it is a perfect and welcomed gift. Since their beginnings in the early '90s, Massive Attack have been both unswerving and innovative, recruiting an A-list cast of guest vocalists to help work subtle variations on dark, dub-based rhythms that were once pigeonholed as "trip hop." Collected works as both an effortlessly coherent reminder of Massive Attack's consistently high standard and a compendium of seductive singing from Everything But the Girl's Tracey Thorn, Cocteau Twins' Elizabeth Fraser, Sinéad O'Connor, Tricky, Horace Andy, and others. Beginning with the classic early single "Safe from Harm" and ending with a new track, "Live with Me" (but skipping non-chronologically otherwise), Collected is nearly 80 minutes of rumbling bass lines, stark percussion, trippy, paranoid keyboards, and haunting vocal performances. Ranging from the beautifully languid "Protection" to the mysteriously sensual "Teardrop" (recently used as the theme to the TV show House), and from the nervously energetic "Karmacoma" to the club classic "Unfinished Symphony," Collected never fails to enthrall.

Product Details

Release Date: 04/04/2006
Label: Virgin Records Us
UPC: 0094636006826
catalogNumber: 60068

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Massive Attack   Primary Artist,Vocals
Mahavishnu Orchestra   Track Performer
Terry Callier   Vocals
Tracey Thorn   Vocals
Horace Andy   Vocals
Elizabeth Fraser   Vocals
Shara Nelson   Vocals
Nicolette   Vocals
Sinéad O'Connor   Vocals
Tricky   Vocals
Robert "3D" del Naja   Vocals
Grantley Marshall   Vocals

Technical Credits

Massive Attack   Arranger,Composer,Producer,Audio Production
Terry Callier   Composer
Tracey Thorn   Composer
Craig Armstrong   String Arrangements
Elizabeth Fraser   Composer
Nellee Hooper   Composer,Producer,Audio Production
Michael Jennings   String Arrangements
Shara Nelson   Composer
Tim Norfolk   Composer
Sinéad O'Connor   Composer
Craig Pruess   String Arrangements
Robert Locke   Composer
Neil Davidge   Arranger,Composer,Producer
Robert "3D" del Naja   Arranger,Composer,Producer,Art Direction
Andrew "Mushroom" Vowles   Composer
William E. Cobham   Composer
Nick Knight   Cover Photo,Photo Courtesy
Juergen Teller   Photo Courtesy
Three-D   Paintings
Mushroom   Composer
Nicolette Suwoton   Composer
Horace Hinds   Composer
Grantley Marshall   Composer
Eddie Monsoon   Photo Courtesy
Tom Hingston   Art Direction
Michael Nash   Photo Courtesy
Steven Goldmann   Composer
Johnny Dollar   Producer
Jonathan Sharp   Composer
Annabelle Dalby   Photo Courtesy
Olli Timmins   Photo Courtesy
Wil Malone   String Arrangements

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Collected 3.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 3 reviews.
koy16 More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
Swing in and out. Enter the zone of where a strange euphoric state encapsulates you. any challenge, everyone, is known and accepted with ease. Massive Attack draws an intrest but needs no center of a universe. It just is.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago