Collected Poems - John Montague

Collected Poems - John Montague

by John Montague

Paperback(1st U.S. Edition)

View All Available Formats & Editions


Collected Poems represents John Montague’s long and remarkably rejuvenative career, nearly forty years. In the three celebrated sequences comprised in Part 1, in the individual love poems of Part 2, and in the new sequences of Part 3, Montague’s rare lyric gift serves a strong narrative impulse, and brings his strong love of place and keen ear and eye to Northern Ireland, Cork, Dublin, Paris, and North and Central America. Finally, he has written love poetry as poignant as any in our time.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780916390686
Publisher: Wake Forest University Press
Publication date: 10/28/1995
Edition description: 1st U.S. Edition
Pages: 394
Product dimensions: 5.70(w) x 9.18(h) x 0.87(d)

About the Author

John Montague was born in Brooklyn, New York, in 1929. A few years later his family returned to County Tyrone, Northern Ireland, where he was raised. He was educated at University College, Dublin, where he received his BA and MA degrees. In 1955 he received an MFA from the University of Iowa. Before beginning a career of college teaching, he worked as a Paris correspondent for The Irish Times. He has taught at universities in France, Ireland, Canada, and the United States. In 1998, he was named the first Irish Professor of Poetry, a three-year appointment to be divided among The Queen’s University in Belfast, Trinity College Dublin, and University College Dublin. He now divides his time between France and West Cork, Ireland. He has received many awards, including the Irish-American Cultural Institute’s Award for Literature, the American Ireland Fund Literary Award for 1995, and a Guggenheim Fellowship. He is the author of numerous collections and an editor of anthologies. He has also published a book of stories, Berkeley’s Telephone and Other Fictions (Lilliput Press, 2000). Wake Forest is the publisher of his last ten volumes, including his most recent, Speech Lessons (2012).

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews