Collected Short Stories Volume 3

Collected Short Stories Volume 3

by W. Somerset Maugham


$14.44 $19.95 Save 28% Current price is $14.44, Original price is $19.95. You Save 28%.
4 New & Used Starting at $8.68


This third volume of Maugham’s stories, introduced and selected by the author himself, contains the celebrated series about Ashenden, a secret service agent in WWI. Based on Maugham’s own experiences with the British Intelligence service in Switzerland, the stories are vignettes in which he dramatizes both the romance and absurdity of espionage as well as its ruthlessness and brutality.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780099428855
Publisher: Random House UK
Publication date: 04/23/2002
Edition description: New
Pages: 304
Product dimensions: 5.12(w) x 7.75(h) x 0.81(d)

About the Author

W. Somerset Maugham was born in Paris in 1874. He began to study medicine in London but the success of his first novel, Liza of Lambeth (1897) won him over to letters. Of Human Bondage (1915) and The Moon and Sixpence (1919) established his reputation as a novelist. His fame as a short story writer began with The Trembling of a Leaf in 1921, after which he published more than ten collections. He died in 1965.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews