Pub. Date:
Collected Stories

Collected Stories

by Bernard MacLaverty


View All Available Formats & Editions
Usually ships within 6 days


For the first time all of Bernard MacLaverty’s unforgettable short stories are gathered together, with a new introduction by the author

Melding his native Irish sensibilities to those of his adopted west-coast Scotland, these tales attend to life’s big events: love and loss, separation and violence, death and betrayal. But the stories teem with smaller significant moments too—private epiphanies, chilling exchanges, intimate encounters. Each of these extraordinary stories—with their wry, self-deprecating humor, their elegance, and subtle wisdom—gets to the very heart of life. Since the publication of Secrets and Other Stories in 1977, Bernard MacLaverty has been celebrated as one of the finest living short-story writers. Writing in the New York Times, William Boyd summoned the shades of Yeats, Joyce, and Flann O'Brien, insisting that "MacLaverty sits perfectly comfortably" in their company.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780099561583
Publisher: Random House UK
Publication date: 01/01/2015
Series: Vintage Classics
Edition description: Reprint
Pages: 618
Product dimensions: 5.10(w) x 7.80(h) x 1.40(d)

About the Author

Bernard MacLaverty has published five collections of short stories—The Great Profondo, Matters of Life & Death, Secrets, A Time to Dance, and Walking the Dog—and four novels: The Anatomy School, Cal, Grace Notes, and Lamb, which was shortlisted for the Booker Prize and won the Saltire Scottish Book of the Year Award. He has written for radio, television, and screen. His short film Bye Child won a BAFTA.

Customer Reviews