Columbine: A True Crime Story

Columbine: A True Crime Story

by Jeff Kass

Paperback(Second edition)

$15.30 $17.00 Save 10% Current price is $15.3, Original price is $17. You Save 10%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, September 25

Overview

The result of 15 years of research and exclusive information, this is the first book of investigative journalism to tell the complete story of Littleton, Colorado’s 1999 mass shooting, its far-reaching consequences, and common characteristics among public shooters across the country. A classic in the tradition of In Cold Blood and The Executioner's Song, it comprehensively explores fundamental American themes of violence, racism, parenting, and policing. This updated and revised edition concludes with new material about public shootings since Columbine and how communities can stop such horrific events from happening in the future.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781938633263
Publisher: Bower House
Publication date: 04/04/2013
Edition description: Second edition
Pages: 334
Sales rank: 580,110
Product dimensions: 5.90(w) x 8.90(h) x 0.90(d)

About the Author

Jeff Kass is a former reporter for the Los Angeles Times and the Rocky Mountain News. He has been a regular contributor to Boston Globe, Christian Science Monitor, Newsday, and U.S. News & World Report, and has covered Colorado and the West for Chicago Tribune and the Dallas Morning News. He has appeared on CNN, Court TV, E! True Story Hollywood, FoxNews, PBS, and radio. He lives in Denver. Douglas Brinkley is the history commentator for CBS News and a contributing editor to American Heritage and Vanity Fair. He is the author of Cronkite and The Wilderness Warrior. He lives in Austin, Texas.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Columbine: A True Crime Story 3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
Anonymous 11 months ago
This book often gets confused with the classic book on Columbine by Dave Cullen, with the same title. What a shame. This is a pale imitation. This one looks like an amateur project, just opening it. (Appears to be self-published with Microsoft word.) Kass was a newspaper reporter, and this book reads like one endless newspaper story, in that style, with no sense that books are a different animal, with different pacing, characters, etc. Kass has no idea how to write a book. It is also shocking how self-righteous Kass is, and how often he makes it all about him. Along those same lines, the book centers on Kass' personal theories of what drove the killers. He has no background in psychology, criminology or sociology, and does not rely on experts in those or other fields, just declares himself an expert and proceeds. He also perpetuates many of the myths about the killers, like them being outcasts. Terrible. A vanity project that failed.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago